addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

The Victoria Photography Meetup Group Message Board › Guidance Needed!!

Guidance Needed!!

Matt F.
user 69718662
Victoria, BC
Post #: 5
Hi all,

I have had two friends recently approach me about being their wedding photographer...

I have no experience in this area and have stressed to them that they should go with a pro, but they both insisted they would like me to do their photos, partially due to the fact they think I'll do a good job, and partly because I can provide the service at a cheap rate.

I have a little experience with photoshoots, but I realize that a wedding is a far greater challenge than engagement photos or maternity shots.... dauntingly so, in fact. I have been reading tips online and have visited hundreds of wedding photog sites for inspiration, so I'm trying to do my research, but I could mostly use some hands on work.

I have read on numerous boards that asking a wedding photographer if you can assist them is a good way to get some experience "in the field" so I guess I'm asking if anyone on this board does weddings, and if so, is there any chance I could tag along? If not, any advice would be greatly appreciated... other than "tell them to get a pro".

Thanks so much for your time.

Matt
Alan
user 4699985
Victoria, BC
Post #: 85
Hi Matt,
My advice? Don't do it...