addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Sewing with Style Message Board › SEWING WITH STYLE IS BACK!!!

SEWING WITH STYLE IS BACK!!!

Antoinette P.
user 4688389
Austin, TX
Post #: 11
I don't know if I ever attended any of the Meetups, but I met some of the group through classes at First Samples. I am a beginner seamstress, so I enjoyed having more experienced seamsters around to help when I got stuck. I also appreciated the social aspect of getting together with other people to sew. Sewing alone at home always got edged out of the way by something else that would come up. :) SO, group projects would be fun. Like if everyone was working on something similar. But I remember that finding sufficient studio space after First Samples closed was an issue...

Hi Emily, I haven't taken classes at most of the sewing schools in Austin but I can say that every single class at First Samples was top-notch. I loved, as you said, learning a bunch, sewing in a social setting, being able to focus... and I loved that sewing was me-time. smile

A couple of the other organizers did a lot of research into potential meetup sewing spaces with Shauna, and we're meeting soon to get caught up and try to update that information. If you have any recommendations, please let us know.
Kristin
user 9583108
Austin, TX
Post #: 1