Past Meetup

Special Event at the Guild: Thollem with the films of Manucinema

This Meetup is past

4 people went

Details

2 hours total - ALL SEATS $8 FOR THIS SPECIAL ONE NIGHT ONLY COMPOSER IN PERSON PERFORMANCE & SCREENING!

Thollem (http://www.thollem.com/) and Tuia Cherici (Manucinema) (http://www.manucinema.blogspot.com/) have been collaborating together for several years now on numerous projects. The first half will be a screening of the documentary by Tuia about Thollem's concert with the great Italian contrabassist Stefano Scodanibbio on the only piano Claude Debussy owned the last 14 years of his life. After a brief intermission Thollem will play live to films Tuia made specifically for him and his various projects including Tsgioti (http://www.tsigoti.com/) and Band News From Houston (http://post-consumer.com/artists/bad-news-from-houston/). Two extremely different approaches to film and music!

1.) About the documentary -

On Debussy's piano And... Includes interviews and live concert footage from Sept. 29th and 30th, 2008 at Musee Labenche in Brive-la-Gaillarde with Thollem McDonas and Stefano Scodanibbio on the only piano Claude Debussy owned the last 14 years of his life. Interviews with Terry Riley (http://terryriley.net/), Joan Jeanrenaud (http://www.jjcello.org/), Maurice Rousteau, Claire Moser, Stefano Scodanibbio (http://www.stefanoscodanibbio.com/), Thollem McDonas, Edoardo Ricci (http://www.edgetonerecords.com/ricci.html), and Jacopo Andreini (http://afoforomusicclub.blogspot.com/2010/08/jacopo-andreini.html). Also includes short films to the music of Thollem, Scodanibbio by David Latreille (http://www.davidlatreille.com/David_Latreille.html) and Peter Sparling (http://www.petersparling.com/).

2.) Short intermission

3.) Thollem/Manucinema (http://www.thollem.com/thollemmanucinema.html) - Live score performance

Thollem is known around the world as a wildly eclectic improvising piano player. With electric piano and analog effects, Thollem Electric forges colossal sonic machinations, all to the backdrop of the exquisitely twisted stop-motion films and videos of Tuia Cherici. The show is an irreverent spectacle “clawing at musical and socio-political borders” (Massimo Ricci, Touching Extremes) and "unreal linear explosions". (Greg Burk, LA Weekly)

ABOUT THE DUO

Tuia Cherici (Italy/Germany) - MANUCINEMA - develops filmed stories made by recycling, animating and recording available materials in the moment (stop-motion, collage, animated sculpture, mixed techniques). Aesthetically intriguing, most of her works come out by observing and molding the materials discovered in her daily life.

Thollem McDonas - "A fresh, disciplined avant-pianist with an attractively extreme viewpoint” (LA Weekly), Thollem travels perpetually as a performer, comproviser, activist and teacher, covering much of the North American continent and Europe. He performs as a soloist as well as in collaboration with many divergent artists in wildly contrasting directions. In the past 8 years, he has added 32 albums to his discography on 15 different vanguard labels in 5 different countries. “An intense and virtuosic keyboardist" (Time Out New York).