addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

IMPORTANT: A PERSON NEEDS OUR HELP. PLEASE READ

From: cole m.
Sent on: Thursday, March 28, 2013 8:08 PM
This is from a great friend, a long time member of the freethinking community and Kay runs our Wyandotte group. Please read below.
Cole
*********************************************************************************
The following information is about a longtime friend of mine who has worked very hard to create a good life for her and her 18 year old son.  I met them when I was living in Arizona and had the opportunity to teach her son piano and voice.  He was a gifted musician from the start and I knew that he was going to make us all proud.  She moved to Louisburg hoping to get him into a good school with a great music department.  She is a hard worker and a very trustworthy person. She has hit a very big bump in the road and needs a helping hand.  Please contact me (Kay Huddleston) at[masked]-3860. or email me at:  [address removed]
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
I am in a real bind. I have been unemployed now for over a year. My benefits ended and I have been without income since November. I have managed to pay my bills until now, but my landlord has filed an eviction against me and my court date is Friday, March 29th.

I live in Louisburg and that has made it difficult financially,
because of the cost of gas to get anywhere, and because there are no
jobs here locally. I have a son who is a freshman at the UMKC Conservatory of Music. He is staying in the dorms this semester, on loan, mainly because
of my situation. He will be coming “home” May 18th. I do not feel it is
in our best interest to stay in Louisburg, even if I could resolve the
finances to stay here another month.

I need to find a safe and comfortable home for us that is
closer to job opportunities, and close enough for him to commute to
school with minimal cost. We also have a dog that we very much want to keep with us. In the short term, I can put my things in storage, but I will need a place to stay until I can save the money for something more permanent.

I have just been offered a part-time job at the 119th & Metcalf Walmart. I am continuing to pursue full-time employment and had an interview on the 26th for a 90 day temporary gig with CVS Caremark.

I am a Medical Assistant and have worked the financial side in billing
and collections. I lost my last healthcare job in 2009 and took a position with
Kraft, but the hours gradually decreased to nothing. Until recently, I have not had a single call back from any prospective employers. I will finish my coursework in clinical medical assisting in the next few months, and I obtained my phlebotomy certification in February.

Although I am can finally see lights at the end of the tunnel that I know are not a train, I find myself in the uncomfortable position of having to reach out for help, even from those I don’t know. However, I do have faith in humankind and the knowledge that there are infinite possibilities that my wee brain may not perceive. So, if anyone has ideas or contributions that could help me, I would be so very grateful to hear them. Thank you for considering us.

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy