Gene E.

Location:

Hillsborough, NC
Hometown: Huntsville, Al

Member since:

June 16, 2008

Networks

If you have a Facebook account, be sure to "like" our Facebook page! First, please tell us where you live? (do not post specific addresses! Give us a general idea, as it helps for potential carpool purposes!

Hillsborough, NC

What type of THOG events are you interested in participating in? (ie hiking, backpacking, camping, cycling, paddling, skiing, snowshoeing, nature photography, geocaching, etc)?

Day backpacking with a camera, have done some white-watering in the "tour-setting".

Here's your chance to show off! Where are your favorite places to explore? (you don't have to divulge all your secret places!)

Mount Rainier area (hope my daughter stays in Seattle awhile ;-{)], the Black Mountains, Smoky Mountains, Hanging Rock, Stone Mountain, Grandfather Mountain, Pilot Mountain, Chimney Rock, Lake Norman, A couple locations along the AT in Virginia, & Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest. Locally the Duke Forest, Umstead Park, Occoneechee State park(from my house), & Eno River parks.

What is your hiking level? What are your expectations from joining THOG? What do you hope to gain from THOG membership?

I'd say intermediate hiker. I do a number of activities to stay in shape and routinely throw in 5-10 mile day hikes, with a few 10-15 miles strenuous day hikes scheduled each year

By joining THOG, you agree that you have read, understood and abide by our Member Code of Conduct. You understand that participating in our activities is voluntary and you are solely responsible for yourself and your guests. Please type in "I AGREE"

I AGREE

Introduction

I grew up hiking all over "mountains" in north Alabama. As an adult I've been a runner/trail runner. Upon turning 50, I did a major hike and reconnected with my boyhood hiking roots, but as an adult I want hiking to be more social.

What Gene E. is saying about this Meetup Group

Nothing but good things to say about my experiences with this meetup group.


Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy