Melbourne Boardgames group (party and strategy games) Message Board › Feel like a gate-crasher...

Feel like a gate-crasher...

Mike
Mike.S87
Melbourne, AU
Post #: 3
Hi All,

I guess I'd better introduce myself - my name is Mike and I'm a recent graduate of Swinburne TAFE. I'm a bit of a hermit / social recluse, so I thought I'd dip my toe into the Meetup arena and see what happens.
I've been a member of Meetup since June but I haven't worked up the courage to go to one yet; I just always get this feeling that I'll be like some sort of gate-crasher going to a meetup out of the blue.

I've always loved board-games but they've mainly been confined to the classics - Chess, checkers, monopoly, game of life and a couple of others. I'm absolutely open to seeing what else is out there! :)

was just wondering if people would be ok having a complete stranger show up to your next movie session? If it's already a set thing, that's cool :)

Have a great weekend everyone!

Mike
Stuart
user 12376055
Melbourne, AU
Post #: 23
I wouldn't stress about it. We were all strangers to each other at some point; the whole point of groups like this is to let people meet others, in an open fashion. Pick an event that's convenient for you, and come along; we don't bite, and there are plenty who are more than happy to teach games to others.
Christopher
user 11666442
Group Organizer
Melbourne, AU
Post #: 60
was just wondering if people would be ok having a complete stranger show up to your next movie session?

Err "movie session" ? hehe ;-)

Hi Mike,
maybe it's hard to tell from the outside, but especially with the larger events like "Cafe Games", we have *many* brand new "strangers" turn up to *every* event. As you haven't signed up for any of the events, you've probably missed the comments people have put on the events saying exactly the same thing as you - that they've never come before, don't know anyone ... but shortly into the event they've already made friends :-)