Room available May 1st -- 115th and 8th -- $975

From: Alison
Sent on: Wednesday, April 2, 2014 8:08 AM
Hello fellow RPCVs,

We have 1 room (unfurnished) available in a beautiful, completely renovated 4-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment. Hardwood floors, living room, kitchen with new appliances.

This is a 6-month lease.

Who we are: 
We are four friends from college and Peace Corps, and as one of our roommates is relocating, we need to replace her room with someone who is quiet, respectful, clean, and, ideally, fun.

Laura is a 27-year-old Columbia Master's candidate and full-time non-profit manager -- she's spent a significant amount of time in West Africa (RPCV Mali). She's dating a filmmaker in Brooklyn, so she spends most of her time on the train. Laura also enjoys a good night of Merlot, Netflix, and debate about social constructs (and how to fix them & the planet).

Amy is a 23-year-old recent grad making it in the fashion industry. She loves to dance, do pilates, and practice her French. Don't expect to see her spending time anywhere near the kitchen.

Alison and her boyfriend Nitai (RPCVs from Ukraine) both work full-time at jobs that would really bore you. Nitai spends the majority of his time in Trader Joe's, and Alison spends the majority of hers trying to convince him they don't need to try another oatmeal/kasha/granol­a/mango cereal.

We are at 116th St. and 8th Ave. (Frederick Douglass Blvd.) We are literally right next to the B-C and two avenues over from the 2-3. 

There are two grocery stores that are awesome near us, lots of fun bars and restaurants, and Central Park is only 4 blocks away. We are across the street from Harlem Tavern, The Winery, a Rite Aid, Lido, Five and Diamond, Harlem Food Bar, Bier, The Cecil, tons of authentic West African restaurants, and we are around the corner from the public library, Morningside Park and the post office. There are also a bunch of local coffee shops, and a vibrant social scene. 

We also have the NICEST bodega guys. On both corners.

We are looking for: 

Someone to move in May 1st for SIX MONTHS.

Either a single male or female (RPCV or not) who is employed full-time or in school full-time. If the right couple came along, we'd be open to it.

No smoking inside the apartment. 

No pets.

No drama. We each choose one part of the apartment to clean each week, and we do it. We pick up after ourselves and recognize that communal areas are not meant for our own personal stuff, i.e. shoes.

We also enjoy interesting conversations, wine nights, and exploring this awesome city.

Please email us if you would like to meet, and if we sound like a good match.

$975/month. $975/security deposit.

Thanks!

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy