Classification Of Vegetarians

Vegetarian is someone who follows a plant-based diet. There are five general types of vegetarians:

1. Semi-Vegetarians (Flexitarians)
Flexitarians limit their intake of either certain types of meat or the amount of meat. Many vegetarians would argue that Flexitarians are not Vegetarians at all.

2. Ovo-Lacto Vegetarians (Vegetarians)
Ovo-lacto vegetarians do not eat any meat (animals, poultry, fish, sea food) but do eat eggs and dairy products.
Subcategories:
- Ovo vegetarians eat eggs but not dairy
- Lacto vegetarians eat dairy but not eggs (This is the most common type of Vegetarians)

3. "Strict" Vegetarians (Vegans)
Vegans eat no animal products - no eggs, no dairy, no honey, etc.

4. Raw Food Vegetarians (Raw/Living Foodists)
Raw or Living Foodists eat only raw vegan food, because enzymes are destroyed by normal cooking processes.

5. Fruitarians
Fruitarians eat only fruit, fruit-like vegetables (e.g., tomatoes, cucumbers), and sometimes seeds and nuts.

Table of Contents

Page title Most recent update Last edited by
ChicagoVeg Choice December 23, 2014 3:29 PM Vadim
No Intoxicants Policy October 2, 2014 11:49 AM Vadim
Promoting through ChicagoVeg August 23, 2014 10:12 PM Vadim
First speech at the 3rd annual CVPP event June 3, 2014 3:12 PM Vadim
History January 28, 2015 12:17 AM Vadim
Vegan and Vegetarian Restaurants December 1, 2014 9:25 AM Vadim
Sponsors January 26, 2015 4:04 PM Vadim
Vegan and Vegetarian Quotes April 24, 2013 7:00 PM Vadim
Quesadilla August 17, 2012 8:47 PM Vadim
Vegan Registered Dietitian June 27, 2012 11:58 AM Vadim
Why Veg June 24, 2013 1:31 PM Vadim
ChicagoVeg Singles January 27, 2015 1:24 AM Vadim

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy