William M.

Location:

Toronto, ON

Member since:

July 14, 2014

Networks

What is your current background in programming?

I am retired from programming but keep my hand in doing Python and C on Linux.

What do you plan on working on each week?

Creating a QT/Python program for finding duplicate files across drives using an MD5 hash. This does not rely on file names but the actual contents and file size.

Are you able to assist others with their endeavours?

Absolutely. I love teaching. I taught c to Bell Engineers when they switched from using nortel to cisco equipment in the 90's at Seneca.

Do you like coffee? I assume yes, but if you like something else, tell us your favourite drink!

I am a coffee lover. I've even roasted my own beans. My favourite is from the Tarrazu region of Costa Rica. I prefer mild to medium roast brewed in a French press.

Introduction

I've been programming since I was about 10 years old, started on a PDP6, I am now 55. I've programmed everything from mainframes to minis to micros to embedded, even satellite. machine code to python and a lot in between, I'm a language junky.

What William M. is saying about this Meetup Group

I'll likely attend every Sunday as this is the only day I can get away like that. Seem like a diverse mix of talent. Although I was pretty much self involved on what I was working on, I did enjoy a few conversations with some of the members. I'll probably open up and be more social next time (a social programmer, oxymoron?).


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy