Colorado Springs Vegan & Vegetarian Group Message Board › Newbie...and it's getting rough...

Newbie...and it's getting rough...

Jennifer B.
Drakan59
Colorado Springs, CO
Post #: 420
Hi! I'm a newbie to the plant-based lifestyle, and I'm finding it difficult to find things I can eat without getting bored. At the moment I eat a banana for breakfast, a salad for lunch, and crackers with almond butter at dinner. Sometimes I'll steam up some spinach or broccoli. Most recipes have things I'm allergic to or just can't eat...like avocado, whole nuts, strawberries, and radishes. I also haven't been able to force myself to eat kale. I don't know what to do with it. I've bought it and had it just sit in my fridge until I threw it out...twice! I just feel lost. Help!
JL F.
user 25105732
Group Organizer
Colorado Springs, CO
Post #: 47
Hi Jennifer! My advice is to think in terms of the five vegan food groups:

1. Vegetables
2. Fruit
3. Beans/legumes (includes tofu and tempeh)
4. Grains
5. Nuts/seeds

When you make a point to incorporate each of these foods into your daily meal plan you will see that there are so many delicious options!

I love to sauté kale in olive oil, garlic and almond slivers. I serve it in a bowl with brown rice or quinoa, and tofu, lentils or black beans.

I'm a big fan of nontraditional breakfast, like bean soup or oatmeal with garlic and veggies (instead of fruit).

Hope this helps!
Lisa
user 7165713
Colorado Springs, CO
Post #: 203
Hi Jennifer, Good advice from JL. I thought I would add some of my personal favorites for meals as well.

Breakfasts: Toast and Almond butter would be great for breakfast. Or we do protein shakes with berries, bananas, almond milk, and a protein powder almost every morning. Good way to get most of your fruit for the day.