add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

September 9th meeting of Dharma Readers

  • Sep 9, 2012 · 4:00 PM
  • Vindya's House

Hi all

Please join us for the next Dharma Readers book club, Sunday September 9th. We will be discussing part 3 & 4 of "The Diamond That Cuts Through Illusion" by Thich Nhat Hanh. If you are new to the group, or have not been to a meeting before and you do not have the book, please feel free to join us if you would like to check it out.

It's time to vote on a new book! Here's the link to the polls:

You can also find the page from the Dharma Readers home page of the meetup site, go to the "More" tab and select "Polls."

The books to choose from are:

The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching: Transforming Suffering into Peace, Joy, and Liberation by Thich Nhat Hanh

In The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching, Thich Nhat Hanh introduces us to the core teachings of Buddhism and shows us that the Buddha's teachings are accessible and applicable to our daily lives. With poetry and clarity, Nhat Hanh imparts comforting wisdom about the nature of suffering and its role in creating compassion, love, and joy--all qualities of enlightenment. Covering such significant teachings as the Four Noble Truths, the Noble Eightfold Path, the Three Doors of Liberation, the Three Dharma Seals, and the Seven Factors of Awakening, The Heart of the Buddha's Teaching is a radiant beacon on Buddhist thought for the initiated and uninitiated alike.

The Path of Serenity and Insight by Bhante Henepola Gunaratana

In the oldest scriptures of Theravada Buddhism much attention is given to the jhanas, high levels of meditative attainment distinguished by powerful concentration and purity of mind. Ven. Dr. Gunaratana examines these jhanas within the context of Buddhist teaching as a whole and particularly within the meditation disciplines taught by the Buddha. Beginning with the ethical foundation for meditation, the role of the teacher, the classical subjects of meditation, and the appropriateness of these subjects to individual practitioners, the author traces the practice of meditation to the higher reaches of realization. The eight stages of jhana are individually analyzed and explained in terms of their relation to one another and to the ultimate goal of the teaching.

The author makes the critical distinction between the mundane jhanas and supermundane jhanas, pointing out that the lower four, while leading to various mental powers and psychic attainments, are not necessary to full enlightenment and may be developed or bypassed as the meditator wishes. The author goes on to explain the place of the jhanas among the accomplishments of an arahat and elucidate their usefulness for a dedicated meditator.

Join or login to comment.

  • Steven

    The book voting page is located at

    If you click on that you will be able to vote.

    September 1, 2012

  • A former member
    A former member

    By strange coincidence, I purchased Heart a while back. (I had a coupon.) Anyway, regarding the two categories of meditation I mentioned, I came across this article a few years back, and it does a better job of explaining the differences than my stilted ramble. This is from the context of Christian prayer, but the concepts travel well.

    August 27, 2012

14 went

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy