Future Manufacturing is for anyone interested in applying new technologies to making physical products. By bringing together people with artisanal, digital manufacturing and creative design skills, the group exists to support collaboration between designers, makers, coders and traditional crafts(wo)men.

Crowd funding, cheap technology, and open source/networked collaboration have revolutionised digital creativity and created a whole ecosystem of start-ups and digital cottage industries. Now 3D-printing, CNC-machining, laser-cutting and other 'hard' technologies benefit from the same processes. We have reached the age of the downloadable product, of mass-customisation. Now, we can own the means of production. In a post-industrial, arguably post-capitalism, era, the way in which we design, prototype, fund and distribute products will change.

The group  is open to hackers, coders, makers, knitters, artists, inventors, sculptors, designers, architects… to anyone involved or interested in the process of producing physical artefacts using digital technology.

We're 756 Explorers

Membership is open to everyone

Content of this Meetup Group is only visible to members

Upcoming Meetups

  • Monday, May 25, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    2 Explorers attending
  • Monday, June 8, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    2 Explorers attending
  • Monday, June 22, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, July 6, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, July 20, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, August 3, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, August 17, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, August 31, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, September 14, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, September 28, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, October 12, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, October 26, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, November 9, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, November 23, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, December 7, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, December 21, 2015 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, January 4, 2016 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, January 18, 2016 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, February 1, 2016 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
  • Monday, February 15, 2016 6:45 PM

    London3D - Printer user self-help group

    1 Explorers attending
 
Founded Oct 25, 2011

Organizers:

Iain Duncan and 3 more…
Contact

Our Sponsors

  • MouseTrap Innovation Ltd

    Meet up Support

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sometimes the best Meetup Group is the one you start

Get started Learn more
Katie

I'm surprised by the level of growth I've seen since becoming an organizer, it's given me more confidence in my abilities.

Katie, started NYC ICO

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy