Charity

Location:

Minneapolis, MN
Hometown: Minneapolis

Member since:

June 2, 2013

What flavor of Geek/Nerd variant do you consider yourself to be? What kind of social happenings best fit into your particular theme of un-conforming?

I am a bit of traditional band camp geek, mixed with sci-fi fantasy nerd. I play RPG's but I can be super competive. I am in high dollar sales but am the only woman in my department. I also can dissect football games and strategies easily while I bake a quiche. I am not an anarchist for I am a political science major but I do feel strongly about our broken politcal system. Being from IL I did vote for two former governors who are now in jail and a senator who is now president. I'm the type of person who hands out voter registration cards to all my non-English speaking neighbors in their language but then complain about the lack of voter turnout.

Are you a Social Butterfly? Do you play well with others? Do you enjoy meeting new people? If so, would you be willing to help out our Nerd Posse leadership team with regularly recurring activities by occasionally hosting events at public locations?

I play well with others and am extremely organized. I would gladly help host and/or organize events. I am not a huge facebook user though. I prefer email or message boards.

When you finally discovered this group after an arduous quest thru Meetup for a flock of odd ducks who naturally “get” your unique brand of slightly off, did you squeal like a piglet, do a happy dance, then have to adjust your glasses? (BE HONEST!)

Not yet. This meetup group seems to be as large and varied as the democratic party. There are naturally going to be many facets and not all will be addressed. For example, I have no interest in Magic the Gathering but the book club sounds great. But there are also gamers, movie geeks, music nerds, anarchists, comic experts and so on. I am interested in seeing how to make such a large meet up involve everyone.

Introduction

I'm Charity and I am a transplant from Chicago. I'm 32 and have a long term beer geek of a boyfriend. No kids, two big dogs and a few dying house plants. I'm an organic gardener and eater who also smokes and drinks.


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy