Louisville Area Canoe & Kayak Group Message Board Gear & Accessories › Sit On Top Kayaks

Sit On Top Kayaks

Jim H.
user 49869432
Louisville, KY
Post #: 1
I am new to the sport of kayaking but have been canoeing for many years. For my money, a canoe is awkward with one person and I have been considering a sit on top kayak. I am a weight lifter so I weight 230 and can handle a big paddle, but likely am not lithe enough to roll or handle white water. My focus will be on recreational journeys through slow/moderate water and leisurely ventures.

I know the purists are frowning and cringing, but what are the thoughts on sit on top kayaks?

Thanks,

Jim
Tim A.
user 48555932
Louisville, KY
Post #: 1
Look at Native's Ultimate: http://nativewatercra...­

I have the 14.5' Tandem and absolutely love it...gives you the stability and comfort of a kayak and the space of a canoe...I can stand up and fish in this boat in flatwater...very comfortable for long paddles. I almost bought a sit on top but bought this instead and am so glad I did. You'll stay much drier in this boat than in a sit on top (which doesn't matter if you're only boating during the summer but matters significantly from mid fall to late spring until the water warms up.). I like sit on tops but personally wouldn't use one year round. Good luck!

Tim
Greg M.
user 8291008
Group Organizer
Jeffersonville, IN
Post #: 794
There's nothing wrong with a sit on top. The main disadvantages are that you'll get wet from water dripping off the blades, you're more exposed to the sun, and they're usually wider (making them harder to paddle). Advantages are that they can carry a lot more gear, usually self-bail so you can hop in the water for a swim and get back on easily in the middle of a lake, and since they're usually wider they're more stable.