The Las Vegas Writers Group Message Board › Has anyone published an e-book via Amazon/Kindle?

Has anyone published an e-book via Amazon/Kindle?

A former member
Post #: 15

I had to do a lot of work with formatting, even when copying from one MS Word doc to the same kind of doc. The paragraphing didn't come out the same. Any help would be great. Thanks for the great info you put here!

Sorry it took me so long to reply, I originally read your message on my iPad and intended to reply when I was sitting at my desk top but then forgot about it until now.

I don't recall any specific sites off-hand. I typically would google something specific that I was trying to do like "how do you add a table of contents in MS Word".

Copying/pasting between different text editors is notorious for causing formatting issues and I always recommend against it at work (I work in the IT field). It is one thing to copy/paste from one MS word file to another MS word file but if you try to copy from word to something like OpenOffice, or Google Docs etc. you're dealing with two completely different programs that, even though they do the same things (such as bold, font, underline, etc) they are often written in different languages so you end up with a type of dialect problem when you try to copy and paste formatting from one to the other. Kind of like when someone from Spain tries to speak in Spanish to someone from Mexico. They both speak Spanish but the forms of Spanish are so different that they often have a hard time understanding each other.