Russell K.

Location:

Exeter, NH

Member since:

June 10, 2013

How many years have you been paddling?

Paddling since 2006, but some years more and some less.

What type or model kayak/canoe do you own?

Tempest 165

What other outdoor sports do you enjoy?

XC Ski, particularly backcountry. Telemark. Trail running, although over the years, my running pace has become more like a fast hiking pace. Mountain biking, although off the bike for the foreseeable future.

What formal or informal training have you had and what skills? ie Able to do wet exit and re-entry, can do eskimo roll, have taken kayak safety courses

Have taken a formal basic rescue class, and used the skills in a few rescues, both practice and serious, and on both the wet and the dry sides. Skills: forward stroke a bit idiosyncratic but it does the job. Sweeps and ruddering clunky but effective. Braces on a good day, but cant really depend on them. Half assed draw stroke. OK at edge turns in flat water, but tighten up in the waves. Good chart skills, some trip planning experience.

Based on the Skill Levels on our Web Site About Us http://www.meetup.com/NESeacoastPaddlers/about/ What Level kayaker are you?

Level 2 with aspirations. I am determined to roll my kayak by the end of the summer.

Introduction

Old enough to know better, but I still don't. So, let's go.


Interests

  • Not yet added

Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy