North Texas Objectivist Society (NTOS) Message Board › What does it mean to value?

What does it mean to value?

A former member
Post #: 1
Hi everyone. I am new to this meetup group but would like to get some thoughts on the meaning and application of the word "value." Recently, I was involved in a political discussion and after reading several of Ayn Rand works it seemed obvious to me that a person cannot truly value anything that isn't a proven fact. Of course the notion of God was mentioned along with other beliefs and soon anger and discontent was flowing in my direction. I personally think tolerance is a good thing and I am not out to attack personal beliefs but at the same time I do not compromise my honesty or my convictions. I am reminded of Ayn Rands words of "For nature to be commanded it must be obeyed..." If Existent Exists and Identities are a law than how can we value anything that isn't real or at least proven real?
Kathleen L.
user 14663198
Dallas, TX
Post #: 1
Value is subjective - it has no form yet at any given moment it can be manifested through an obsession to where it has no limits either for or against the human existence - it is a wanderer until someone gives it the power of thought. To each man his own treasure? Is it possible to diminish self worth when we value a thing that doesn't truly exist especially an ideal. Nothing exist until it is done. You spoke of God and other beliefs and met with anger. Does it surprise you - there are so many Gods and religious beliefs that contradict the value of man - either real or the potential thereof: who has the right to exalt their ideal God that doesn't exist because it has not been manifested in God's creation the supposed off spring. Man must value his own existence to evolve and to value his existence he must prove his reality.
Old T.
OldToad
Group Organizer
Dallas, TX
Post #: 1,123
Hi JC,

Thanks for your interest in discussion here.

Regarding value, Ayn Rand wrote in Galt’s speech: