Pasadena Area Screenwriting Group Message Board › Looking for a Screenwriting class...send recs please!

Looking for a Screenwriting class...send recs please!

Sarah
user 8272641
Los Angeles, CA
Post #: 4
Hi everyone,
I'm a rookie to the screenwriting field and would like recommendations on any screenwriting classes or courses that you think are good for beginners like me...class can be online, book, or campus...thank you!
Sarah
Chris R.
chrisrafferty
Canoga Park, CA
Post #: 3
Hi Sarah!

There are way too many books out there on screenwriting, but my favorite to recommend beginners is THE SCREENWRITER'S BIBLE by Trottier. It's equal parts Writing, Formatting and Selling. It's also the size of a screenplay, so the script pages it includes get you real comfortable with the format.

When you're ready to get deeper into structure & characters, I like THE WRITER'S JOURNEY by Vogler.
And if interested in theory, STORY by McKee is fun.

-Chris

PS. Don't fall for quick courses. Seminars. Anything that promises you secrets and charges you money. LA preys upon writers looking to skip the work and go directly to "sell" by dishing out dollars. It doesn't work. Starting out, you need to read, write, study, write, analyze, write, share, write, listen, write and, uh, write some more.
Claire N.
user 6213799
Group Organizer
Los Angeles, CA
Post #: 63
I found "Save the Cat" by Blake Snyder very good, partly because it has a nice 'beat sheet' that can be helpful for (a) outlining and (b) [perhaps even more useful] figuring out where your 1st draft's structure went wrong, and partly because it doesn't have SO much information that you feel deluged by new ideas by halfway through ;}

Claire.