Portland Piano Players Message Board › Piano Teachers

Piano Teachers

Rick N.
RNobleman
Portland, OR
Post #: 6
If you are taking or have taken piano lessons in the Portland area, who were your teacher(s)? Where were they located? What is their teaching style? What are their specialities? Would you recommend them?
Grace
user 3403247
Portland, OR
Post #: 5
Thks Rick for putting this out there, looking forward to it's enrollment!
A former member
Post #: 1
Thanks Rick for starting the discussion. It's a nice topic. I've had a wonderful teacher for several months. She was a music student, but is graduating very soon and leaving Portland. Although she is young, she is very talented and humble. I'm looking for a new teacher now.
Megan H.
meganhughes
Portland, OR
I have yet to attend a piano playing meeting, but I hope to soon. I'm a piano teacher in the Portland area and teach about 50% adults. By that I mean about half of my students are grownups, not that they are all half-grownup!. Although that would be fun.
You can check out my website here: http://www.meganhughe...­. If I have a specialty, it is tone, technique and ease of playing, all devoted to music-making first and foremost. I am the fifth generation in the Beethoven lineage, through Leschetitsky, Alexander Raab and Don Lehmann. I am also the antithesis of the piano teacher with rules and a ruler.
Cheers!
Christopher C.
user 28206762
Group Organizer
Portland, OR
I am a little reluctant to post a full reply because I am afraid I will be too critical of my current piano teacher! But I guess it is all for the common good. I will omit his name though, ask me if you want to know, he teaches through a local piano dealer.

First though I will mention a couple of things I liked about teachers from my past (who were in Nashville unfortunately).