The Lost Art of Mixing by Erica Bauermeister

  • November 4, 2014 · 6:30 PM
  • Brenda Harmon

In the relative hush of the predinner rush, Lillian quietly assesses her surroundings. She needs to prepare for the evening’s specials, and she needs to take inventory for the week’s orders. Ever since she opened her own restaurant, her brain seems to be constantly buzzing, always planning for the busy hours ahead. Even the most careful preparations, however, couldn’t have allowed Lillian to anticipate the twist her life is about to take. Using Lillian’s restaurant as the hub for a cast of widely varied characters, Bauermeister explores the intersections of community, food, belonging, and memory. With Isabelle, the elderly matriarch whose faculties are rapidly fading; Chloe, the feisty sous-chef who’s positive she’ll never be able to trust a man; and other friends and acquaintances, an interconnected and heartfelt story unwinds. In her third novel, Bauermeister displays her admirable talent for ensemble fiction, allowing various characters to share narration duties. Fans of Deborah Copaken Kogan and Meg Waite Clayton will enjoy the nove

Join or login to comment.

  • Elisa

    So I totally thought this was next Tues! I can't make it tonight I'm so sorry ladies! I won't be able to make the next one either my in laws are flying in that day for Thanksgiving! I will def be there for the Christmas party though!!!!!

    November 4

  • Melanie

    I'll bring wine.

    November 3

  • Laura H.

    I will bring french crêpes and some fixings.

    1 · November 1

  • Cindy O

    I will bring a spinach dip & Hawaiian bread

    October 29

  • Kim

    I'll make pumpkin cheesecake bars.

    October 28

  • Jeanne B.

    I just finished the book.

    October 27

  • Brenda H.

    I'm going to have chicken and mashed potatoes for the main dish. I feel like some comfort food now that fall is in the air.

    October 27

  • Brenda H.

    Fran, We will certainly miss you too. But looking forward to the play on Sunday. Did you get a chance to purchase your ticket at a discount.

    October 27

  • Fran

    Between going to Gloucester to paint and staying on top of all the paperwork at school, I have not had a chance to read but a few pages. I'll miss you guys!

    October 26

  • Jeanne B.

    I dont come back from romania until the day before the next meeting so I dont know how I will be feeling. I will try to come but cant say for sure.

    October 21

  • Sam

    You mean we're supposed to be reading these?! *grin*

    1 · October 21

  • Brenda H.

    Jeanne, Don't you know about the free pass. You don't have to read the book as long as you come with a smile on your face. Looking forward to seeing you at my house November 4th.

    1 · October 21

  • Jeanne B.

    I hate to miss it but wont have time to read the book.

    October 20

10 went

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Create a Meetup Group and meet new people

Get started Learn more
Bill

I started the group because there wasn't any other type of group like this. I've met some great folks in the group who have become close friends and have also met some amazing business owners.

Bill, started New York City Gay Craft Beer Lovers

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy