Ryan H.

Location:

Los Angeles, CA

Member since:

October 25, 2011

Networks

Your answers will be visible to everyone. This is like a resume to tell the other members what you are looking for. This is NOT a "swingers" group so please reflect this in your answer. What does the word polyamory mean to you?

To me it means that love and sex are not limited commodities, and that one can be involved in multiple relationships without diminishing them.

Why did you join the polyamory meetup group?

I am essentially "polyamorous curious" at this point. I have never had a satisfying monogamous relationship before despite two decades of trying it, and I am at the point in my life where I find that I do not want a monogamous relationship; it seems "old fashioned" and limited. On the other hand, I do not have extensive experience with the poly lifestyle. I have friends who are polyamorous and by talking to them I started to wonder if perhaps this was the ethical sexual philosophy that best suits me. I am interested in finding out more about how these relationships work for others.

Are you currently involved in a poly relationship? How many individuals in your "tribe"?

I'm not anybody's primary, let's put it that way.

Do you have any children? What are their ages? (helps in planning activities)

I do not have children.

What would your ideal poly relationship look like?

I am only beginning to figure this out. I think I might be a person who does not settle into a "primary relationship," and be serially single, involved with other single poly women or with people who have a strong primary partner. I am open to a primary partner happening if I find a woman who provides the perfect balance for it. I am still exploring the options at this point.

Introduction

My name is Ryan Harvey, and I'm a thirty-nine year-old male living in Los Angeles. By profession, I'm a struggling (although award-winning) science-fiction and fantasy novelist. My other loves are movies, swing dancing, and books books books.


Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy