Columbia Atheists Message Board › Apostate questionnaire

Apostate questionnaire

Carla B.
tekvet
Columbia, MO
Post #: 25
From the AAIIMG news group:

Phil Zuckerman wrote "Society without God", and is a researcher at Pitzer college. He is doing research on those who have been apostates from religion, and are now secular. Even if you did not have much religion at all, or stay with it long, he would like to know why. Return this survey to him by March 1 to be included. His email is included in the text of this document.

Phil Zuckerman <phil_zuckerman@pitzer.edu>

He would like this to be forwarded to all secular and freethinking organizations and news lists.

LAT
------------- CUT HERE FOR QUESTIONNAIRE ------------
Questionnaire on Apostasy

My name is Phil Zuckerman and I am a professor at Pitzer College in Claremont, California. I am currently doing research for a book on apostates – that is, people who were once religious, or were raised religious, but are no longer. In short, I am interested in how and why people lose their faith and/or reject religion. If you were raised in a secular household and have been secular all your life, this survey isn’t for you. But if you were religious at some point in your life – even if only as a child – I welcome your responses to the questions below.

Please return your completed questionnaire to: phil_zuckerman@pitzer.edu Questionnaires must be e-mailed to me by March 1, 2010 to be included in my study. Feel free to pass this questionnaire on to any friends, family members, or associates who were once religious, or were raised religious, but are no longer. Your responses are confidential (I won’t even record your name) and your completed questionnaire will not be shared with anyone or any organization.

Thank you for your time!

1. Tell me about the religiosity of your mother? Was she a believer? Active in organized religious activities? Or was your mother perhaps secular?