Reminder: PDA Accountability Group Conference Call TONIGHT

From: Susan S.
Sent on: Wednesday, April 8, 2009 8:14 PM
Less than an hour from now - Just to let everyone know about a conference call on prosecution and accountability which all are invited to join, coming up shortly Wednesday April 8th 9 PM eastern Standard time.  (Instructions below). PLEASE JOIN US

Some ideas I would like discussed for moving forward:
  • focusing our energies on demanding that John Conyers hold a televised press conference on a call for a Special Prosecutor rather than limiting himself to internet press releases (which do NOT reach the wide public, and thus keeps this issue quiet).We can take this a sign of Conyers true sincerity as he has a well-known history of making noise for the benefit of activists but result in nothing.
  • Pressing the angle that they were torturing innocent men, not "the worst-of-the-worst".
  • Stress that the US needs to clean up our own mess.   Obama cannot afford to be squeamish, or it will result in an international embarrassment when extradition requests are issued.  The international community is moving forward.
If these approaches appeal to you please say so on the call.
It's OK to just to listen, you don't have to say anything.  PDA is counting the number of callers to gauge interest in this issue.  It's fun and easy if you have never been on a conference call before!  You are part of history..

Accountability
& Justice Conference Call Reminder


Please join us for our Accountability and Justice Conference call

DATE: TOMORROW, WEDNESDAY, APRIL 8TH, 2009

TIME: 9:00 EST, 8:00 CST, 7:00 MST, 6:00 PST

Conference Call #: (231)[masked] Access Code:[masked]#


                 This call will be facilitated by Susan Harman

Agenda:

 1. Introductions.
 2. Guest star, Sharon Adams, San Francisco National Lawyers Guild No-Torture working group, will report on what they're doing re Yoo, Bybee, and Haynes.
 3. Bye Bye Bybee.
 4. DeWalt meeting with Leahy.
 5. Steering Committee.
 6. Campaigns - scattershot or focused?
 7. Mock trials.
 8. David Swanson, David Waldman, and Susan H. in DC.
 9. Feith & Spain.
 10. New IOT webpage - please have this
website open for this section.
 11. DAs and Dead Soldiers.
 12. Next meeting: May 13.

In solidarity,

Conor Boylan, Field Coordinator,

Tim Carpenter, National Director,

Diane Shamis, IOT coordinator and

Laura Bonham, Deputy Director

PDA National Team


People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy