add-memberalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbellblockcalendarcamerachatchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-upcircle-with-crosscomposecrossfacebookflagfolderglobegoogleimagesinstagramkeylocation-pinmedalmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1pagepersonpluspollsImported LayersImported LayersImported LayersshieldstartwitterwinbackClosewinbackCompletewinbackDiscountyahoo

Young and New to the Cities Message Board › Things to do around the Twin Cities

Things to do around the Twin Cities

A former member
Post #: 1
Hey Everyone,

Obviously, I am new to the cities, so I don't know as many opportunities of what is available further away from where I live in South Minneapolis. I'd like to provide opportunities for everyone to get to do events near their community... so lets discuss ideas for future meetups here.
user 14397933
Minneapolis, MN
Hey Cara! I'll have to ask a few of my coworkers about some good events coming up here. There's a lot of resources out that I try to keep up on:

• City Pages (sign up for their Top things to do this week email)
  • CrowdCut, Groupon and Daily Deals have all helped to expand my horizons a bit. They're deals allowed me to explore some things I never would have tried or even heard about otherwise
  • Neighborhood business...maybe it's b/c I live downtown, but there are tons of businesses down here that offer free and/or discounted services. I tried bikram yoga b/c a few places offered 1 free week to new customers
  • Sporting events - I'm probably late on this one, but where I come from, it's illegal to buy or sell tickets on the street to an event. Here it's free! The first (and only) Twins game I've been to so far, I scored really good seats for $20 about 20 minutes into the game
  • Entertainment - Summer's here and I think just about every city is putting on some great outdoor shows. A lot of them are free. Check out the State fair music lineup as well. I saw BoyzIIMen again last summer for the price of admission :-)