The Cleveland Freethinkers Message Board › Statement of Faith (or Lack Thereof)

Statement of Faith (or Lack Thereof)

Mark T.
user 4783078
Cleveland, OH
Post #: 9
I thought this might be a good place for group members to share, in a few sentences, where they stand on religion & how they arrived there (family religious background, twists of faith, etc.) Anyone who wishes to participate is free to say as little as they like.
Mark T.
user 4783078
Cleveland, OH
Post #: 10
So I'll go first:

I can safely say that I've been atheist/agnostic since age 5.
I grew up in a non-religious household- I would say my Mother was Atheist, and my Father Agnostic... though neither trumpeted their labels.
I was baptized a Hungarian Orthodox Christian, though I'm not sure why.
Only 4 or 5 individuals in my extended family can be called religious- the rest are pretty much infidels! shock
Marni T.
marniphocles
Group Organizer
Cleveland, OH
Post #: 10
I am not really good with the history of things, but I'll say I've been at least an agnostic for a very long time. My parents are both Methodists now, with my mother being raised Catholic and my dad being raised Christian Science.

When I was about 10, I think, I came up with an eleventh commandment (and mind you, at the time I was completely serious): Thou Shalt not Sneeze in Someone else's Face". I guess that gives an idea of where I was in terms of religious belief :)