Matthew W.

Location:

Durham, NC
Hometown: Asheville, NC

Member since:

September 27, 2013

How would you describe your sailing experience? At the end of your description include a title for yourself (look at other profiles, or the about page for ideas)

Moderate-Advanced Experience. Most of my experience comes from dinghy racing as a skipper, but I am happy to be a crew member too!

What type boats have you sailed on - or dream of sailing on? What sort of sailing do you do? Cruising, racing, beercans, YRA . . . Transpac??

FJ, 420, MIT Tech's, Larks, JY15, Catalina 30, Hobie Cat, Bytes(when I was much younger) Cruising and Racing on Lakes & Bays My parents have taken several trips to the Caribbean on bare-boat charters (primarily of 50+ catamarans). Taking a long trip like that, with some of my best sailing friends is definitely a dream of mine.

If you are a private boat owner -- please describe your vessel in as much detail as you can.

Unfortunately no boats out west...yet

Do you have any US sailing or ASA certificates? Do you bareboat charter?

No, but would be interested in taking the necessary tests to get certified, and would definitely be interested in a bareboat charter if available.

Are you disabled or have limited mobility? You'll be welcomed, but it's very important for skippers to know ahead of time to keep everyone safe while sailing (you included).

No

Introduction

I recently moved to the area for an internship. Normally, I live in Boston, where I sail for Northeastern University. I grew up sailing on a JY and Catalina 30. Looking forward to meeting sailors on the west coast!


Our Sponsors

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy