Kayak Fishing Club of the Palm Beaches Message Board › Ascend D10 sit-in

Ascend D10 sit-in

A former member
Post #: 3
Hi guys, so I'm pretty new to kayaking. This is going to be my first one and I've been doing research, but I'm not 100% sure on what to get and would greatly appreciate any suggestions. I'm really interested in the Ascend D10 sit-in kayak; does anyone have experience with this kind? And also, what is the preference between sit-ins and sit-ons? I just want to make sure I make the right decision before investing in one. Thank you!!! (:
A former member
Post #: 16
Hi Amanda. Welcome to the group. You've come to the right place to seek knowledge on Kayak Fishing. I will tell you that everyone has their own preference, as you will too. My suggestion is, read all the feedback given to you, and review previous discussions. You will find quite a bit of info. just from this site. Then, make your educated decision. I have done my fair share of research, and I believe that you are wise to gain more knowledge before making the investment. Feel free to contact me anytime with any questions you may have. My info. is on the "Phone List" discussion.
To answer your question... Personally, I would go with a SOT Kayak. Reason being; the recovery is much easier. Reference "Youtube" on recovery for both types. you will see that a SOT is much easier/better than a SIK. A SOT is self-bailing. Whereas, the SIK needs to be emptied/bailed manually. Thus, getting you back into the safety of your kayak faster.
Scott R.
KayakKowboy
Jupiter, FL
Post #: 26
Hi Amanda