The Austin Linux Meetup Message Board › Shell Script help

Shell Script help

A former member
Post #: 2
I have no experience with Shell Scripting so if anyone has a solution that does not involve shell that's welcome but here's my question otherwise.

(gist) I need to look through multiple files sitting in different sub directories under a parent dir find a string and replace it with a different string.

Here are the strings I am looking to find and replace:
NSLocalizedString(<key>, <comment>) to NSLocalizedStringFromTable(<key>, table, <comment>)

The key and comment have to remain same through the replace operation.
Examples:

1. NSLocalizedString(@"abc", @"xyz") --> NSLocalizedStringFromTable(@"abc"­, table, @"xyz") //
2. NSLocalizedString(someobject, somecomment) --> NSLocalizedStringFromTable(someobject, table, somecomment)

Again, I have no idea where to even beging all I have right now is :

#!/bin/sh

FILES=`ls $1 ./*.m`
for f in $FILES
do
echo "Processing file : $f"
done

which as you can see is just an example code
Bob C.
bob_carnaghi
Austin, TX
Post #: 65
Savaidya:

This can be done easily enough with Bash or scripting in general. I can't take the time to write it out right now, I'll post again later.

Bob
Bill S
user 9248335
Austin, TX
Post #: 125
#!/bin/bash
TOPDIR="$HOME/foo"
SEARCH_PATTERN='NSLocalizedString(\([^­,]*\),\([^)]*\))'
REPLACEMENT_PATTERN='NSLocalizedString­(\1, table, \2)'
find $TOPDIR -type f | while read f; do
echo ">>> Checking $f"
grep -q "$SEARCH_PATTERN" "$f"
if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
TMPFILE=`mktemp /tmp/nslocalizedstrings-XXXXXXXXXX`
echo "Making substitutions in $f"
sed -e "s/$SEARCH_PATTERN/$REPLACEMENT_PAT­TERN/" < "$f" > $TMPFILE
cp $TMPFILE "$f".new
rm -f $TMPFILE
fi
done
Bob C.
bob_carnaghi
Austin, TX
Post #: 66
Savaidya:

Try this one-line snippet:

find -type f -name "*.<file-extension>" | xargs -I '{}' sed -i "s/<string1>/<string2>/­g" {}

Customize the following items per your needs: