The Omaha Metro Area Humanist Association (OMAHA) works to bring about a progressive society where being good without a god is an accepted way to live life. We accomplish this through our outreach to the growing number of people without traditional religious faith, and through a continued refinement and advancement of the humanist worldview.

Humanism encompasses a variety of nontheistic views (atheism, agnosticism, rationalism, naturalism, secularism, and so forth) while adding the important element of a comprehensive worldview and set of ethical values - values that are grounded in the philosophy of the Enlightenment, informed by scientific knowledge, and driven by a desire to meet the needs of people in the here and now.

We count humanists and other nontheists as the core of our movement but are always willing to work with friends and allies on issues of common concern. The positions we hold and the actions we take are not simply for our own benefit, but for the betterment of all of society and the world in which we live.

Be sure to check out our website at http://www.omahahumanists.org/

We're 106 Humanists

Membership is open to everyone

Content of this Meetup Group is only visible to members

Upcoming Meetups

  • Thursday, July 24, 2014 6:30 PM

    Jazz on the Green 2014!

    3 Humanists attending
  • Saturday, July 26, 2014 6:30 PM

    SATURDAYS @ STINSON CONCERT SERIES

    3 Humanists attending
  • Monday, July 28, 2014 8:30 PM

    Monday Night Movie in the Park Series

    1 Humanists attending
  • Thursday, July 31, 2014 6:30 PM

    Jazz on the Green 2014!

    2 Humanists attending
  • Friday, August 1, 2014 6:30 PM

    First Friday's Humanist Happy Hour!

    3 Humanists attending
  • Saturday, August 2, 2014 6:30 PM

    SATURDAYS @ STINSON CONCERT SERIES

    2 Humanists attending
  • Sunday, August 3, 2014 2:00 PM

    Godzilla: The 1954 Japanese Original, at Film Streams

    6 Humanists attending
  • Monday, August 4, 2014 8:30 PM

    Monday Night Movie in the Park Series

    1 Humanists attending
  • Thursday, August 7, 2014 6:30 PM

    Jazz on the Green 2014!

    2 Humanists attending
  • Saturday, August 9, 2014 6:30 PM

    SATURDAYS @ STINSON CONCERT SERIES

    2 Humanists attending
  • Sunday, August 10, 2014 11:00 AM

    The Unbelievers Movie Screening

    12 Humanists attending
  • Monday, August 11, 2014 8:30 PM

    Monday Night Movie in the Park Series

    1 Humanists attending
  • Thursday, August 14, 2014 6:30 PM

    Jazz on the Green 2014!

    2 Humanists attending
  • Monday, August 18, 2014 8:30 PM

    Monday Night Movie in the Park Series

    1 Humanists attending
  • Thursday, August 21, 2014 6:00 PM

    Third Thursdays - Monthly OMAHA Meetup

    8 Humanists attending
  • Saturday, August 23, 2014 6:30 PM

    SATURDAYS @ STINSON CONCERT SERIES

    2 Humanists attending
  • Monday, August 25, 2014 8:30 PM

    Monday Night Movie in the Park Series

    1 Humanists attending
  • Thursday, August 28, 2014 6:00 PM

    End of Summer Concert Series

    2 Humanists attending
  • Saturday, August 30, 2014 6:30 PM

    SATURDAYS @ STINSON CONCERT SERIES

    2 Humanists attending
  • Thursday, September 4, 2014 6:00 PM

    End of Summer Concert Series

    2 Humanists attending
 
OMAHA (Omaha Metro Area Humanist Association) http://photos4.meetupstatic.com/photos/event/c/e/2/4/global_332032772.jpeg
Founded Jan 19, 2014
20140118

Organizers:

William Danger Newman, Carrie Mae, John Powers, Linda-Lou Who, Mark Siepker
Contact

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Start the perfect Meetup Group for you

It's quick and easy to create a lively community.

Log in

Not registered with us yet?

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy