Bay Area Backcountry Buddies Message Board › Whitney in early June?

Whitney in early June?

A former member
Post #: 3
Hi everyone,

I have a chunk of time and I'm thinking about posting a thru-hike from Cottonwood pass which exits out Whitney Portal. I've climbed Whitney in Late July, and snow wasn't a condsideration, but I know this won't be the case so early in the summer season.

One ranger said that Ice axes and crampons were a must, and another said, barring a huge storm, trekking poles would be sufficient. Has anyone ever done Whitney this early in the season? What was it like?

Also, is there interest in this hike: Cottonwood to Whitney? My dates are June 6th through June 17th. I was hoping to do a 10 thru-hike but I'm not very experienced with snow conditions and most of the passes in the Sierra are covered in snow and ice.

Advice? Interest?

frank
user 9194737
Alameda, CA
Post #: 9
I think you are just a 'tad' early with a June 6th date. I have been to the S.Sierra a few weeks ago and the snow level was lower than 'normal' but there will still be a lot of snow.

There are several options. Cottonwood Pass, Trail Pass or Kennady Meadows Resort (South near Inyokern ). If you are solo the safest route would be to go in to Kennady Meadows. This is the launching point into the Sierra for the PCT thru-hikers. They will start arriving there at the end of May.
It will add more mileage to your trip but it will put you 'on the trail'. Also you will be above all the Passes and won't have to go over them.

There will be people there who will be up on the conditions that lie ahead. If they are good there will be footsteps to follow. In a normal snow year the traditional day (Rayday) is June 15th for entering this region. The last few years of lite snow it has been the end of May.