Minneapolis Vegan Meetup Message Board › Sickened by Soy

Sickened by Soy

Katie L.
TheCatsMeow
Saint Paul, MN
Post #: 2
I know that one can be vegan and not eat soy. Frankly, I'm so disgusted by it and tired of eating it that I can't take it anymore. I think the reason that I don't like it is that it can be made into so many different foods-that just seems creepy to me.
I'm new to veganism, and I just need help.
I really need more protein sources, and soy (fake meat) just isn't going to cut it. (Although I recently made tempeh tacos and was quite satisfied)I like peanut butter, seeds, nuts, and almond milk, and basically any bean. While these items are great, they probably get old after some time.
I also thought I would try coconut milk yogurt, but was disappointed to discover that one serving only has 2 grams of protein.

Since I 'changed' my diet, I've gained about 5 pounds, and I believe this is due to eating too many carbs and grains and not enough protein. So-any help is greatly appreciated!

Katie
A former member
Post #: 105
First off, I'm a rather inexperienced Vegan myself...but I hope my sharing my perspective can be helpful.

The variety of beans and the ways in which they can be prepared is high enough that I have to think that it would take a very long time before a person would really just say, "ok, enough with beans, I'm done with them!" The main reason why soy is used in so many manners is not just because it is a versatile bean, it's also so common because it happens to be relatively inexpensive to produce, and is a leading crop right now. Other beans could be just as versatile, but due to a variety of factors they would not be as successful due to the average person's misconceptions about them.