Weston A. Price Foundation - London Chapter Message Board › Tips on a healthy diet for 1 year old

Tips on a healthy diet for 1 year old

Naomi
user 26615692
London, GB
Post #: 11
Hi all

I am fairly new to WAPF. My daughter has recently turned one and I am looking for some advice from other mums or knowledgeable WAPF'ers.

I have kept her off grains up to now but am starting to introduce them. She eats lots of fish, meat, eggs and veg, I often cook her food in bone broths and she also has a fair amount of fruit.

In terms of areas to improve up to now she has not been having much liver which I know is a powerhouse so I want to include more. And also have not given her any fermented butter and cod liver oil (anyone any idea how much to give a litte one?). She has only eaten limited amounts of fermented food (as I have been exhausted to make them but just started my first batch!) I am wondering if I am missing anything out of this list?

I have both of Sally Fallon's books which are great but for the way my mind works I kind of need a summary to work back from.

Also, what does WAPF think about fruit? Sally seems very keen on bananas but then other people say to me that fruit is just full of fructose and better not to give that to babies as it works like sugar on their system. In any case any ideas of things to add, things we are missing, things to watch, great recipes etc all gratefully recived.

Finally I have also just started making water kefir - any thoughts on whether this is beneficial for her even though it has sugar in it? So far am blessed with a baby who eats anything so i want to take full advantage to give her a fabulous grounding and gut health.

thank you!

xxx
Claire
user 47390302
London, GB
Post #: 130
I would try to include some fermented foods. I give my 1 year old home made kefir and yogurt from raw cows and goats milk.
I also make sauerkraut and give her the juice over her food.