What we're about

For North County Book Lovers!

I couldn't find the book club I wanted to join and decided to start my own!
This is a club for anyone who wants to meetup, drink some wine and chat about books!

Meeting will be held every first Tuesday of the month. Books will be mostly fiction: a mix of old and new. I will strive for a good variety. Every third book will be non-fiction (I know, I don't like them too but one's got to learn).

Hope to see you there!

Upcoming events (4)

Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith by Jon Krakauer

From the bestselling author of "Into the Wild" and "Into Thin Air", a riveting account of Taliban-like theocracies in the American heartland controlled by renegade Mormon prophets.

Brothers Ron and Dan Lafferty insist they were commanded to kill by God.

Krakauer's investigation is a meticulously researched, bone-chilling narrative of polygamy, savage violence and unyielding faith: an incisive, gripping work of non-fiction that illuminates an otherwise confounding realm of human behaviour.

'Excellent... A lucid, judicious, even sympathetic account not just of Mormon Fundamentalism but of the seductive power of fanaticism in general' - DAILY TELEGRAPH

Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

Needs a location

I think we are overdue for a good old-fashioned psychological thriller with a killer twist you'll never forget!

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.
1. I’m in a coma
2. My husband doesn’t love me any more
3. Sometimes I lie
Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this thriller down. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Woman in the Window.

Remarkably Bright Creatures: A Novel by Shelby Van Pelt

Needs a location

“remarkably Bright Creatures is a beautiful examination of how loneliness can be transformed, cracked open, with the slightest touch from another living thing." -- Kevin Wilson, author of Nothing to See Here For fans of A Man Called Ove, a charming, witty and compulsively readable exploration of friendship, reckoning, and hope that traces a widow's unlikely connection with a giant Pacific octopus After Tova Sullivan's husband died, she began working the night shift at the Sowell Bay Aquarium, mopping floors and tidying up. Keeping busy has always helped her cope, which she's been doing since her eighteen-year-old son, Erik, mysteriously vanished on a boat in Puget Sound over thirty years ago. Tova becomes acquainted with curmudgeonly Marcellus, a giant Pacific octopus living at the aquarium. Marcellus knows more than anyone can imagine but wouldn't dream of lifting one of his eight arms for his human captors--until he forms a remarkable friendship with Tova. Ever the detective, Marcellus deduces what happened the night Tova's son disappeared. And now Marcellus must use every trick his old invertebrate body can muster to unearth the truth for her before it's too late. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel is a gentle reminder that sometimes taking a hard look at the past can help uncover a future that once felt impossible.

The Woman They Could Not Silence… by Kate Moore

Needs a location

The Woman They Could Not Silence: The Shocking Story of a Woman Who Dared to Fight Back
Book by Kate Moore

From the internationally bestselling author of The Radium Girls comes a dark but ultimately uplifting tale of a woman whose incredible journey still resonates today.

Elizabeth Packard was an ordinary Victorian housewife and mother of six. That was, until the first Woman’s Rights Convention was held in 1848, inspiring Elizabeth and many other women to dream of greater freedoms. She began voicing her opinions on politics and religion — opinions that her husband did not share. Incensed and deeply threatened by her growing independence, he had her declared ‘slightly insane’ and committed to an asylum.

Inside the Illinois State Hospital, Elizabeth found many other perfectly lucid women who, like her, had been betrayed by their husbands and incarcerated for daring to have a voice. But just because you are sane, doesn’t mean that you can escape a madhouse …

Fighting the stigma of her gender and her supposed madness, Elizabeth embarked on a ceaseless quest for justice. It not only challenged the medical science of the day and saved untold others from suffering her fate, it ultimately led to a giant leap forward in human rights the world over.

Past events (42)

One hundred years of solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Needs a location

Photos (77)

Related topics