What we're about

This group has gone through several lists for its reading, but has always been committed to providing its members an enjoyable atmosphere to read and discuss great (and sometimes not so great) works of literature.

A brief history:

2010: Founded as the "Hemingway Book Club". The group focused on the major works Ernest Hemingway.

2011: Reading list updated to include Hemingway and his peers such as F. Scott Fitzgerald, Sherwood Anderson, and John Dos Passos.

2012: Reading list updated to focus on the Modern Library's Top 100 list

2016: Reading list updated to include Contemporary Classics including previous winners of Major Book Awards such as the Pen Faulkner, Man Booker, and Pulitzer Prize.

Our group consists of people for all walks of life and ages. The books are typically chosen from a poll conducted at the the beginning of the year to ensure there is appropriate interest in each of the texts.

We typically meet the last Sunday of the month at the Ukrainian East Village restaurant.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/ukrainian-east-vill... (http://www.yelp.com/biz/ukrainian-east-village-new-york)

A note on the restaurant: Everyone orders something whether it's a full dinner or soup or appetizers or just a cup of tea. They have been taking great care of us for years and their service is much appreciated--and the food is good. If you RSVP "yes" but for whatever reason can't attend, please change your RSVP to "no" so we have a better headcount when we tell the restaurant how many seats to set up.

Upcoming events (4+)

Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King

Online event


Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption is a novella by Stephen King from his 1982 collection Different Seasons, subtitled Hope Springs Eternal. The novella has also been published as a standalone book. The story is entirely told by the character Red, in a narrative he claims to have been writing from September 1975 to January 1976, with an additional chapter added in spring 1977.

It was adapted for the screen in 1994 as The Shawshank Redemption, which was nominated for seven Academy Awards in 1994, including Best Picture.[1] In 2009, it was adapted for the stage as The Shawshank Redemption.[2]

The Tin Drum by Gunter Grass

Online event

he Tin Drum (German: Die Blechtrommel, pronounced [diː ˈblɛçˌtʁɔml̩] (About this soundlisten)) is a 1959 novel by Günter Grass. The novel is the first book of Grass's Danziger Trilogie (Danzig Trilogy). It was adapted into a 1979 film, which won both the 1979 Palme d'Or and the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 1980.

To "beat a tin drum" when used as an idiom means to create a disturbance in order to bring attention to a cause.[1][2] This is based on an interpretation of the book where Oskar's beating of his titular tin drum "symbolizes his protest against the middle-class mentality of his family and neighborhood."[3]

The Vegetarian by Han Kang

Online event

The Vegetarian (Korean: 채식주의자; RR: Chaesikjuuija) is a South Korean three-part novel written by Han Kang and first published in 2007. Based on Han's 1997 short story "The Fruit of My Woman", The Vegetarian is set in modern-day Seoul and tells the story of Yeong-hye, a part-time graphic artist and home-maker, whose decision to stop eating meat after a bloody, nightmarish dream about human cruelty leads to devastating consequences in her personal and familial life.[1]

Published on 30 October 2007 in South Korea by Changbi Publishers, The Vegetarian was received as "very extreme and bizarre" by the South Korean audience.[2] "Mongolian Mark", the second and central part of the novel was awarded the prestigious Yi Sang Literary Prize. It has been translated into at least thirteen languages, including English, French, Spanish, and Chinese.

The Vegetarian is Han's second book to be translated into English. The translation was conducted by the British translator Deborah Smith, and was published in January 2015 in the UK and February 2016 in the US, after which it received international critical acclaim, with critics praising Han's writing style and Smith's translation. In May 2016, it won the 2016 Man Booker International Prize. The Vegetarian thus became the first recipient of the award after its reconfiguration in 2015, prior to which it was awarded to an author's body of work rather than a single novel.[3][4] It is considered as Korean translated literature's biggest win since Kyung-Sook Shin's Please Look After Mom won the closing Man Asian Literary Prize in 2012.[5] Prior to it winning the prize, The Vegetarian had sold close to 20,000 copies in the nine years since its first publication.[6] In June 2016, Time included the book in its list of best books of 2016.[7] [8][9]

Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

Online event

Brideshead Revisited, The Sacred & Profane Memories of Captain Charles Ryder is a novel by English writer Evelyn Waugh, first published in 1945. It follows, from the 1920s to the early 1940s, the life and romances of the protagonist Charles Ryder, most especially his friendship with the Flytes, a family of wealthy English Catholics who live in a palatial mansion called Brideshead Castle. Ryder has relationships with two of the Flytes: Sebastian and Julia. The novel explores themes including nostalgia for the age of English aristocracy and Catholicism. A faithful and well-received television adaptation of the novel was produced in an 11-part miniseries by Granada Television in 1981.

Past events (122)

The Body by Stephen King

Online event

Photos (1)