What we're about

Thank you for checking out this meet up. We are an extremely fun group. We get together monthly at a local BYOB, bring wine, often the same varietal or same country, we open up all bottles and everybody gets to try them all and find a favorite. And we always discuss a book that we all read, usually a very robust discussion.

It's an opportunity to meet new people, try new wines, read great books, and check out byob restaurants.

Upcoming events (2)

Discuss The Great Alone over White Wine at Shagun

Shagun Fine Indian Restaurant

Let’s meet again at Shagun, they love us there. https://www.shagunindianrestaurant.com/ For wine, let’s do whites and we can compare different varietals. ($12-15 and we’ll try em all). There are so many to choose from, the usual, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Riesling, gerwurztraminer, but there’s also Albariño (Spain), Torrontes (Argentina), Chenin Blanc (France and others), Pinot Grigio (Italy and others), etc. Let’s try to have a variety of new varietals to compare. For the book, let’s read The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah. Summary Ernt Allbright, a former POW, comes home from the Vietnam war a changed and volatile man. When he loses yet another job, he makes an impulsive decision: he will move his family north, to Alaska, where they will live off the grid in America’s last true frontier. Thirteen-year-old Leni, a girl coming of age in a tumultuous time, caught in the riptide of her parents’ passionate, stormy relationship, dares to hope that a new land will lead to a better future for her family. She is desperate for a place to belong. Her mother, Cora, will do anything and go anywhere for the man she loves, even if means following him into the unknown. At first, Alaska seems to be the answer to their prayers. In a wild, remote corner of the state, they find a fiercely independent community of strong men and even stronger women. The long, sunlit days and the generosity of the locals make up for the Allbrights’ lack of preparation and dwindling resources. But as winter approaches and darkness descends on Alaska, Ernt’s fragile mental state deteriorates and the family begins to fracture. Soon the perils outside pale in comparison to threats from within. In their small cabin, covered in snow, blanketed in eighteen hours of night, Leni and her mother learn the terrible truth: they are on their own. In the wild, there is no one to save them but themselves.

Discuss Beneath a Scarlet Sky at The Olive Tree Bistro with Wines from Oregon

The Olive Tree Pizza Bistro Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan Wines from Oregon Let's check out this new place in Paoli. They don't take reservations but agreed to do so for our group. https://www.otpizzabistro.com/ Let's bring wine from Oregon, red or white ($12-15). The state is known for it's Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris but you'll also find Chardonnay, Cabernet, and nice blends. We'll open em all up and find favorites. As for the book, this is free right now if you have Amazon Prime, and I've heard from typically harsh critics that this book is excellent. It is also going to be a movie that will probably be out this year. Beneath a Scarlet Sky - Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland. Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man’s incredible courage and resilience during one of history’s darkest hours. Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior. In an attempt to protect him, Pino’s parents force him to enlist as a German soldier—a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler’s left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich’s most mysterious and powerful commanders. Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share. Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

Past events (71)

Discuss A Piece of the World at Pepperoncini over Spanish wines

Pepperoncini Italian byob Restaurant And Catering

Photos (51)