addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramlinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

DC Area Drone User Group Message Board Activities / Events / Projects › Pilot and UAV Needed for Science Project

Pilot and UAV Needed for Science Project

Stephen
user 13011646
Washington, DC
Post #: 1
Greetings DC drone users. I'm a scientist working on a small, independent project in geology. I've designed a flight plan for collecting camera image data of the ground, and my goal is to produce a short, timely scientific paper on the use of a small multi-rotor UAV to do some data collection. This isn't a high-flying, fast, action packed air show. Rather, it will be a very methodical, low altitude flight (less than 10 feet) above the ground. What's in it for me: I don't have my own multi-rotor yet, but I have tested my data collection technique with a handheld camera. I have confidence it will work, but I'm not ready to invest in my own full system yet. I get to see how it works in action. I get to submit a paper for publication, which is very good for my career. What's in it for you: This could be good for your career as well! At the least, you will get a personal acknowledgment in the paper, if not a co-authorship. This is a big deal as having one publication (or adding to a list) strengthens your resume for science, tech and engineering fields. I will also foot the bill for the 1-2 day trip to the field site, probably North Car