Past Meetup

Bitcoin & the Internet of Money

This Meetup is past

145 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Join us for a discussion of new digital currencies and the Internet of money. Joe Weisenthal (http://www.businessinsider.com/author/joe-weisenthal) (@thestalwart), Executive Editor of Business Insider (http://www.businessinsider.com/) will moderate our panel with policy expert, Jerry Brito (http://mercatus.org/jerry-brito) (@jerrybrito), Bitcoin software contributor, Jeff Garzik (http://yyz.us/short-bio.html) (@jgarzik) of Bitpay (https://bitpay.com/), and Jim Harper (http://www.cato.org/people/jim-harper), Cato Institute (http://www.cato.org/) Senior Fellow and Global Policy Counsel for the Bitcoin Foundation (https://bitcoinfoundation.org/).

We’ll ask: Is Bitcoin a scam or a viable means of global payments?

How will regulators respond to emerging digital “currencies?” Are the methods and math behind Bitcoin here to stay? Why are tech-world investors so optimistic and real-world economists so skeptical?

Entrepreneurs, bankers, policy makers, and miners are welcome to participate in our Q&A. Refreshments will be served.

Voluntary donations of any amount accepted at Coinbase (https://coinbase.com/checkouts/74f896e8007db3e9beac0ddff3632254).

Our panel:

Joe Weisenthal is a prolific digital journalist. He is the Executive Editor of Business Insider, a fast-growing news site with deep financial, media and tech verticals, and over 40 million monthly unique visitors.

Jerry Brito is a senior research fellow at the Mercatus Center at George Mason University and director of its Technology Policy Program. His research focuses on technology and Internet policy, copyright, and the regulatory process.

Jeff Garzik is a software engineer and open source evangelist. Starting in 2010, Jeff developed Bitcoin open source software, and launched micro-businesses involving Bitcoin. Previously, he was a Linux leader at RedHat. He now works at Bitpay.

Jim Harper is a senior fellow at the Cato Institute where he works to adapt law and policy to the unique problems of the information age, in areas such as privacy, telecommunications, intellectual property, transparency, and security. From 2004 to 2014, Jim was director of information policy studies at Cato. In 2014 he became a Cato senior fellow and global policy counsel at the Bitcoin Foundation.