This Meetup is past

138 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

The recent release of the White House’s Federal Source Code policy (https://sourcecode.cio.gov/) is just the latest example of how the federal government has come to embrace open source ideology. This policy promotes efficiency and re-use by encouraging agencies to use open source code for custom applications and building communities around it.

During this Meetup we will focus on open source technology in government. You will also hear about the exciting partnership between Red Hat and Microsoft, and the collaborative solutions that will be available as a result. We will also discuss best practices and use cases for government.

In addition to engaging discussions and networking, we are excited about relocating our Meetup to 1776—a great space that inspires innovation! 1776 is a global incubator and seed fund that believes startups can change the world.

Here’s the Meetup agenda along with directions 1776 DC. We hope to see you there!

August Meetup Agenda

6:00pm – 6:30 p.m.

• Networking and refreshments

6:30 – 8:00 p.m.

• Welcome & Introductions

Meet Up Organizers: Vishwas Lele (https://www.linkedin.com/in/vishwas-lele-240206), CTO, AIS (http://www.appliedis.com/), & Microsoft Azure MVP (https://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/PublicProfile/5000214?fullName=Vishwas%20%20Lele); and Karina Homme (https://www.linkedin.com/in/karinahomme), Azure Government Product Market Lead, Microsoft

• Open Source Tech in Gov

Clara Tsao (https://www.linkedin.com/in/claratsao), Entrepreneur in Residence, White House Presidential Innovation Fellows (https://www.whitehouse.gov/innovationfellows)

Adam Clater (https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-clater-1606092), Chief Cloud Architect, Office of the Chief Technologist, North America Public Sector, Red Hat (https://www.redhat.com/en)

Evong Nham Chung (https://www.linkedin.com/in/evong-nham-chung-0b733890), Solutions Architecture Manager, Red Hat (https://www.redhat.com/en)

• RHEL / Open Source Use Cases for Government

Brian Harrison (https://www.linkedin.com/in/briancharrison), Cloud Solution Architect, Microsoft (https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/features/gov/)

• Hosting Operations Test and Evaluation Facilities (OTEF) in Azure Government

Vishwas Lele (https://www.linkedin.com/in/vishwas-lele-240206), CTO, AIS (http://www.appliedis.com/) & Microsoft Azure MVP (https://mvp.microsoft.com/en-us/PublicProfile/5000214?fullName=Vishwas%20%20Lele)

8:00pm – 8:30 p.m.

• Wrap up and further Q&A, discussions and networking

Directions

1776 is located only a few blocks from both Logan Circle and the White House. The building is across the street from the Washington Post and is home to Strayer University on the first floor. A sign will be visible on the exterior of the building.

Parking

There’s a parking garage to the building. The rate is $6 after 5 p.m.

Metro

The closest metro stops are McPherson Square (blue and orange lines) and Farragut North (red line).

1776 is approximately a 5- to 7-minute walk from each station.