addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-leftarrow-right-10x10arrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcredit-cardcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobe--smallglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1languagelaunch-new-window--smalllight-bulblinklocation-pinlockm-swarmSearchmailmediummessagesminusmobilemoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahooyoutube

Peggy W.


Portola, CA
Hometown: Hemet

Member since:

February 22, 2012


What activities do you enjoy? How do you spend your free time? If you planned a "play day" with other women, what would you like most to do?

Live music, picnics, walks, museums, art galleries, wine tasting, day trips to local points of interest, botanical gardens, cooking, reading groups, theater productions, fairs and festivals....I love to do many things. I have a bachelor's degree in literature from UCLA and a Masters in Creative writing from California State Univerisity at Northridge, so naturally, I love to read and write.

Do you enjoy indulging in simple, rewarding and fun activities with other women that do not necessarily cost money?

Like many others, the economic turndown effected us in a huge way. Between 2005 and 2008, my husband I lost everything we'd worked for. For two years, we lived in a 1995 RV, 8 feet wide, 30 feet long, no slides. We didn't put anything into storage so learned to live with very little--only what fit in 8 by 30 feet. No room for "things." My husband's mother passed away in 2010 & left a modest estate. We were able to buy a small home in a working class neighborhood in Hemet with our share. My husband, 13 years my senior, is supposed to be retired...but he works part-time in insurance from home. I write and make a little money from some articles. Between my husband's retirement income, his part-time salary, and what little I make from writing, we actually do okay. We are fortunate not to have mortgage, too, but there isn't much left for "play money," so I definitely need friends who get that and don't mind enjoying fun things together for free or that require very little cash.

Are you willing to meet casually once a month or more to interact with other women, to plan fun activities, or to simply enjoy part of a day doing something fun?

Absolutely. There is so much we can do to have fun.


Not easy for a woman over 50 to make new friends in a new town. My husband is lovely, but I deeply miss my close gal pals. I live modestly & hope to develop lasting friendships w/other women who want to have fun without spending $$$.

What Peggy W. is saying about this Meetup Group

Wow. What wonderful, beautiful, strong, interesting women. Thank you for being a part of my life. I feel blessed.


People in this
group are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy