Secular Day of the Dead

Freethought Society
Freethought Society
Public group

Online event

This event has passed

Details

A Secular Day of the Dead/Día de los Muertos Secular event is a celebration of life. Nontheist Hispanics and others view the Secular Day of the Dead as a perfect way to remember the legacy of dead loved ones that does not require prayer, church, or religious dogma. To nontheists, our legacies are our afterlife.

The Secular Day of the Dead event will include many redesigned and religion-free Hispanic traditions and rituals that celebrate our one and only life, legacies and cultural heritage.

More and more people are abandoning their religious upbringing but still want to celebrate the beauty of the Hispanic culture. This is why a Secular Day of the Dead was created. The 2020 Secular Day of the Dead/Día de los Muertos Secular will be presented as a Zoom event on Sunday, November 1, 2020 with special attention to Spanish speaking participants. The 2020 Secular Day of the Dead is co-sponsored by The Freethought Society, Hispanic American Freethinkers, American Atheists, Center for Inquiry, and the Freedom From Religion Foundation. Register at:

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJYoduGsqz8sEtdDY5T3-q64A_EvVQYz5jS7

11:45 AM (PST)/2:45 PM (EST) Pre-Event Social
Entertainment and chatting opportunities with like-minded individuals will take place during this 15-minute time slot, featuring musical presentations by Gary Stockdale, Christina Jones, and Juan Carlos.

Noon (PST)/3:00 PM (EST) Welcome
Bilingual welcome by organizers and co-sponsors Robyn Blumner, Victoria de la Torre, Margaret Downey, Nick Fish, Annie Laurie Gaylor, and David Tamayo. Co-sponsors and organizers will each light a candle to honor a “Secular Saint” of historic significance. A Spanish Speakers Zoom Room and an English Speakers Zoom Room will be offered to participants at this time. Music at this time will be provided by Gary Stockdale and Abraham Steven Mackey.

12:30 PM (PST)/3:30 PM (EST) Guest Speaker
Dan Barker: “Adios a Dios” (a journey story presentation)

1:00 PM (PST)/4:00 PM (EST) Honoring Ceremony
Reservations are being taken for speakers who want to celebrate the life of a dead loved one. Reserve a 3-5-minute time slot through the following email address: [masked]

The Honoring Ceremony will open with dedications from actor John de Lancie, writer Sasha Sagan, sculptor Zenos Frudakis and John Davidson – a Hollywood legend and musical stage star.

After the reserved speaking spots conclude, the Zoom spotlighting function will be available for anyone who would like to participate. The screen share function will be enabled so that speakers can display photos of the person or pet being honored.

Zoom logon information is only available to those who pre-register. Register for the Zoom link here:

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJYoduGsqz8sEtdDY5T3-q64A_EvVQYz5jS7

Prizes will be awarded and mailed to participants whom the co-sponsors determine to have the best Secular Day of the Dead themed clothing, Zoom setting, face painting, face mask, and hair adornment. See photos of the prizes and find additional information at:

https://www.facebook.com/events/683335612257926/?active_tab=discussion

The end time of this event is unknown. Anyone who would like to honor a dead loved one will have an opportunity before we conclude with a mini concert by John Davidson and closing song by Abraham Steven Mackey.