Past Meetup

Agenda for the Future

This Meetup is past

110 people went

Price: £18.00 /per person

Birkbeck College

Torrington Square WC1E 7HX · London

How to find us

We’ll be in the Clore Management Centre, room B01 (on the basement level)

Location image of event venue

Details

Unless we urgently change our culture, we risk collectively rushing towards a future which will turn out to be hostile to humanity. Can we identify and agree a better Agenda for the Future?

Speakers at this event will give their opinions on topics such as the transformation of politics, the challenge of artificial intelligence, the reform of capitalism, the increased importance of business ethics, a new approach to money, the risks to the environment, a simpler form of taxation, the benefits and risks of immigration, manipulation of the mass media, and changes in healthcare. The speakers have in common the view that better solutions are at hand, provided we act with sufficient foresight. The aim of the event is to stimulate informed debate on the demands of the future.

Note: this event was rescheduled to 2nd September from the original date of 3rd June on account of the UK General Election on 8th June. Anyone who changes their RSVP to No will receive a full refund.

Schedule for the event:

(Subject to minor changes)

09.15: Doors open[masked]:00: Chair’s welcome
– David Wood: A Technoprogressive Vision of a Comprehensively Better Future[masked]:00: First group of speakers
– Derek Bates: Why we need an Agenda for the Future
– Tom Levitt: Why Business Doing Good is Doing Good Business
– Pat Kane: From Homo Economicus to Radical Animal
– Vicky Pryce: Can we Trust Economists?
12.00: Break for lunch and networking (lunch is not supplied)
13:00: Tea and coffee available, for post-lunch networking
13:30-15:00: Second group of speakers
– Rohit Talwar: Crossing the Chasm of Chaos: Navigating the Second Storm
– Dean Bubley: Anti-Forecasting: Taking the Impossible Off the Table
– Tim Pendry: Three Potential Problems With Futurist Politics
15:00: Break for tea/coffee networking[masked]: Final group of speakers
– Stephen Herring: A Tax System Fit for the Future
– Indra Adnan: Reimagining politics
– Alvin Carpio: Creating a New Politics for the Fourth Industrial Revolution
17.00: Room empty. Optional continuation of discussion in nearby pub.

The event will be followed by a chance to continue the discussion in a nearby pub - The Marlborough Arms (http://www.taylor-walker.co.uk/pub-food/marlborough-arms-bloomsbury/pid-C7440), 36 Torrington Place, London WC1E 7HJ.

Speakers:

For more details of the speakers, see this event page (https://londonfuturists.com/forthcoming-meetings/agenda-for-the-future/).

Here's a brief summary:

• Derek Bates (https://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/derek-bates/alternative-democracy): Consulting Scientist and Director, Materials Technology Ltd - Why we need an Agenda for the Future

• Tom Levitt (https://www.theyworkforyou.com/mp/10356/tom_levitt/high_peak): Member of Parliament for High Peak from 1997 to 2010 - Why Business Doing Good is Doing Good Business

• Pat Kane (https://www.theguardian.com/profile/patkane), Co-initiator, The Alternative UK (https://www.thealternative.org.uk/) - From Homo Economicus to Radical Animal (Or more simply, from Homer Simpson to Lisa Simpson)

• Vicky Pryce (http://www.vickypryce.com/): former Joint Head of the United Kingdom's Government Economic Service - Can we Trust Economists?

• Rohit Talwar (http://fastfuturepublishing.com/main/about/our-team/), CEO of Fast Future Publishing (http://fastfuturepublishing.com/) - Crossing the Chasm of Chaos: Navigating the Second Storm

• Dean Bubley (http://www.deanbubley.com/), Founder, Disruptive Analysis (http://disruptive-analysis.com/) - Anti-Forecasting: Taking the Impossible Off the Table

• Tim Pendry (http://www.tppr.co.uk/tppr-people), Director of Research, Internationalist Future (http://www.internationalistfuture.org/) - Three Potential Problems With Futurist Politics: Engineers, Science Fiction & Anti-Humanism

• Stephen Herring (https://www.iod.com/news-campaigns/our-experts/stephen-herring), Head of Taxation at the Institute of Directors (IoD) -A Tax System Fit for the Future

• Indra Adnan (http://www.indraadnan.com/), Co-initiator, The Alternative UK (https://www.thealternative.org.uk/) - Reimagining politics

• Alvin Carpio (https://www.forbes.com/profile/alvin-carpio/), Founder & Chief Executive, The Fourth Group (http://thefourthgroup.org/) - Creating a New Politics for the Fourth Industrial Revolution.

The event will be introduced and chaired by David Wood (https://deltawisdom.com/videos/), Chair of London Futurists (https://londonfuturists.com/) and Executive Director of Transpolitica (https://transpolitica.org/).

Registration:

Tickets for the full-day event are priced at £18, to cover room hire, refreshments, and IT and AV expenses. If there are still spaces in the room, people who didn't register in advance can obtain a ticket for £20 on the door.

(Until 31st July, reduced cost registration was available, at £15 per ticket. The original Early Bird registration price of £12 expired on 15th June.)

Journalists who can point to an established track record of publications about technology and/or futurism in major media outlets (e.g. Wired, BBC, New Scientist) are invited to contact the organisers to obtain a press pass.

Venue:

We’ll be in the Clore Management Centre, room B01 (on the basement level), Birkbeck College (http://www.bbk.ac.uk/maps), Torrington Square WC1E 7HX, London.

The Clore Management Centre is on the opposite side of Torrington Square from the main Birkbeck College building. Torrington Square (which is a pedestrian-only square) is about 10 minutes walk from either Russell Square or Goodge St tube stations. See this map (https://anticipating2025.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/venue-map.png).

Audience interaction at the event:

We’ll be using the online tool Glisser (https://www.glisser.com/). See this blogpost (https://londonfuturists.com/2017/08/23/crowdsourcing-the-best-questions/) for more details.

Wifi Access:

Wireless network: BBK-Guest
Username: FuturistsSept
Password: 5qcRnj

(This account is restricted to the day of the event. Past experience with this venue is that users may need to accept a security warning, about lack of https support, before gaining access.)

Social media hashtag:

#LonFut (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23LonFut&src=typd)