The 'Make' Revolution with its founder, Dale Dougherty

This is a past event

210 people went

Details

Dale Dougherty is the founder and CEO of Maker Media, Inc (https://makermedia.com/). in Sebastopol, CA. Maker Media produces Make Magazine, which launched in 2005, and Maker Faire, (https://makerfaire.com/) which was held first in the San Francisco Bay Area in 2006. The Maker Faire events attract more than 200,000 attendees annually just in the Bay Area and New York City, with hundreds more events held around the world. MAKE has been the catalyst for a worldwide Maker Movement that is transforming innovation in industry, hands-on learning in education and the personal lives of makers of all ages. MAKE invites everyone to become a maker, and integrate creative goals with technical skills. Dougherty was a co-founder of O'Reilly Media, where he was the first editor of their computing trade books, and developed GNN in 1993, the first commercial website. He coined Web 2.0 in 1993. MAKE started at O'Reilly Media and spun out as its own company in January 2013. He grew up in Louisville, KY.

This important event is being organized in partnership with the Franklin Institute (https://www.fi.edu/) and the Philly New Tech Meetup and will take place in the Institute's Franklin Theater. Dr. Derek Pitts (https://www.fi.edu/scientists/derrick-pitts-hond) will be the moderator for the evening's conversation.

The program will begin at 5:00 with a table-top Showcase featuring many of our great local makers, including TheraV (https://www.weartherav.com/), OwlMedical (Turn Timer), Roar for Good (http://www.roarforgood.com/), Dxter (Tricorder) (http://www.basilleaftech.com/), Lightning Packs (http://www.lightningpacks.com/lightningpacks.com/Lightning_Packs,_LLC_%7C_Lightening_your_load,_lighting_your_way.html), Biomaker Lab (UPenn), Kittyo (http://kittyo.com/), AlaFlex, Franklin Institute (Science After Hours) (https://www.fi.edu/special-events/science-after-hours) and Tozuda (http://www.tozuda.com/). Dale will also be signing books (which will be on sale).

The formal presentation will begin promptly at 6:30.

The program is free, but space is very limited, so sign up now to reserve your seat.

Free food vouchers will be provided to purchase snacks at the food concession in the main lobby of the Franklin Institute (one floor up from the Franklin Theater venue). Guests should use the business entrance on the 1st floor of the Franklin Institute (located to the right of the main stairs on 20th street).

Organizations that have presented, sponsored or shown at our Meetup to date, include the following:

AlaFlex

Annee London (http://www.anneelondon.com/)

Arrow Electronics (https://www.arrow.com/?gclid=Cj0KEQiAnvfDBRCXrabLl6-6t-0BEiQAW4SRUANMWH2clSGWVkgeQ7a_4CHGFCxSOAJwA8sw-OMTah4aAnwv8P8HAQ)

Baiada Institute (http://drexel.edu/baiada/)

Ballistic Curtain Cordon Systems

Basil Leaf Technologies (http://www.basilleaftech.com/) (Tricorder X-Prize winner)

Biobots (https://www.biobots.io/)

Biomaker Lab (UPenn)

Biomeme (http://biomeme.com/)

Biorealize (http://www.biorealize.com/#microbial-design-studio)

BOLT.io (http://bolt.io/)

Bon Bouton by Flextrapower (http://bonbouton.co/index.html)

Bright Idea (http://brightidea.io/)

BucknBear Knives (https://bucknbearknives.com/)

BumpOut (https://bumpout.com/)

Canary Security Systems (https://canary.is/?gclid=CjwKEAjwsr-6BRCLvrj785rbhTsSJADjUxakQV_cHlKVNtNLAAN_4CWLYxxbYz2sgd1T3C1K6-vWlhoC6_fw_wcB?utm_source=meetcanary&utm_medium=ooh&utm_campaign=summer2015)

Chocamo (http://www.chocamo.com/)

Climateon (http://www.climateon.com/)

Daisy Bluetooth Soil Moisture Probe (http://www.moedae.com/apps/daisy-bluetooth-plant-moisture-sensor)

Dreamit Ventures (http://www.dreamit.com/#meaningful-experience)

Drexel Center for Functional Fabrics (http://drexel.edu/excite/discovery/cff/)

Drexel Hyperloop Team (http://drexelhyperloopteam.com/blog.html)

Duane Morris (http://www.duanemorris.com/)

DVIRC (http://www.dvirc.org/)

Dxter (Tricorder) (http://www.basilleaftech.com/)

Fermento (http://fermento.squarespace.com/)

Franklin Institute (Science After Hours) (https://www.fi.edu/special-events/science-after-hours)

Graphwear (http://graphwear.co/)

Guestof (http://www.guestofapp.com/)

Hax Hardware Accelerator (https://hax.co/)

Human Augmentation Venture

Indiegogo (https://www.indiegogo.com/how-it-works?gclid=Cj0KEQiAnvfDBRCXrabLl6-6t-0BEiQAW4SRULLhVj7PmchaXVPu_WeKmBheEJZyo1vopgLuv0rrwTcaAulI8P8HAQ&mkwid=s_dc%7Cpcrid%7C172146561106%7Cpmt%7Cb%7Cpkw%7Cindigogo+crowdfunding%7C)

Iqinetics (http://iqinetics.com/)

Kickstarter (https://www.kickstarter.com/)

Kittyo (http://kittyo.com/)

KRYSI (https://www.shopkrysi.com/)

Lia Diagnostics (http://www.liadiagnostics.com/)

Lightning Packs (http://www.lightningpacks.com/lightningpacks.com/Lightning_Packs,_LLC_%7C_Lightening_your_load,_lighting_your_way.html)

Loopit (http://www.redesign.studio/loopit.html)

Maker Media (including MAKE Magazine and Maker Faire) (http://makermedia.com/)

MANTA (Multi-purpose Autonomous Navigator & Trash Annihilator)

MinkeeBlue (https://minkeeblue.com/)

NEMCO (https://gust.com/companies/nemco)

New American Public Art (http://www.newamericanpublicart.com/)

Nucleus (http://www.nucleuslife.com/)

Nextfab (http://www.nextfab.com/)

Noria Air Conditioner (http://www.noriahome.com/)

Orange Maker (http://www.orangemaker.com/)

Outernets (http://outernets.co/)

OwlMedical (Turn Timer)

Rapid Emergency Information (http://www.emergencyinformationsystems.com/)

Roar for Good (http://www.roarforgood.com/)

Singh Center for Nanotechnology (https://www.nano.upenn.edu/)

Smartplate (http://www.getsmartplate.com/)

SOSV Accelerator VC (https://sosv.com/)

SPOR Chargers (http://www.sporchargers.com/#spor-energy)

The Merchants Fund (http://www.merchantsfund.org/)

TIE Philadelphia (http://philadelphia.tie.org/)

Tozuda (http://www.tozuda.com/)

Soltech Solutions (http://soltechsolutionsllc.com/)

Synotrac (http://www.synotrac.com/)

Tern Water (http://www.ternwater.com/)

TheraV (https://www.weartherav.com/)

United by Blue (http://unitedbyblue.com/)

Urban Manufacturing Alliance (http://www.urbanmfg.org/)

VUE Smart Glasses (http://www.enjoyvue.com/)

Wazer Waterjet (https://www.wazer.com/)

Wearlilu (http://wearlilu.com/)

wearVTA (https://www.wearvta.com/)