What we're about

We are a group of black women who love to read, want to read more and meet like-minded women. We are here to inspire women to read, share literature, fellowship, and encourage others in the joy of reading. Check the events and locations to join us at a book club meeting. We are an eclectic group of women and so are our reading selections.

In between meetings, make sure that you keep a eye on the message boards over at https://www.meetup.com/Mocha-Girls-Read-Oakland/messages/boards/ where other news and announcements will be made.

Find out more on our website http://mochagirlsread.com

If you are media, please email Mocha Girl Dindi at media@mochagirlsread.com

For Authors and Publishers, please email Mocha Girl Classy at classy@mochagirlsread.com

Upcoming events (3)

Augustravaganza: Finance Class and Money Tips

Network event

Online event

We are going to do some self-care on our money every Thursday night with Teisha.

Teshia teaches individuals how to take control of their relationship with money by giving them tangible concepts and strategies that they can implement. She specializes in helping individuals create a personalized road map to create financial independence/ freedom.

Zoom ID -[masked]
Password in the comments

Virtual Movie Night: Summer of Soul

Network event

Online event

In his acclaimed debut as a filmmaker, Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson presents a powerful and transporting documentary—part music film, part historical record created around an epic event that celebrated Black history, culture and fashion. Over the course of six weeks in the summer of 1969, just one hundred miles south of Woodstock, The Harlem Cultural Festival was filmed in Mount Morris Park (now Marcus Garvey Park). The footage was never seen and largely forgotten–until now. SUMMER OF SOUL shines a light on the importance of history to our spiritual well-being and stands as a testament to the healing power of music during times of unrest, both past and present. The feature includes never-before-seen concert performances by Stevie Wonder, Nina Simone, Sly & the Family Stone, Gladys Knight & the Pips, Mahalia Jackson, B.B. King, The 5th Dimension and more.

“Summer of Soul (...or, When the Revolution Could Not be Televised),” is the first official project under the recently announced Onyx Collective brand. The winner of both the Grand Jury Prize and Audience Award at Sundance Film Festival will be released theatrically by Searchlight Pictures and will begin streaming on Hulu in the U.S. on July 2, 2021. The film will also stream internationally through the Star offering on Disney+ on a date to be confirmed.

Book Club Meeting: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed

Book Synopsis
Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?
_____________________________

We will be meeting on Google Meet.
- - - - - - - - - - -
Looking forward to seeing you all there!

P.S. If you don't finish the book, come anyway!! (If you don't mind hearing about the end.)
- - - - - - - - - - -

Buy the book from your local Bookstore (most will give you a book of the month discount)

Photos (179)