What we're about

We are a group of black women who love to read, want to read more, and meet like-minded women. We are here to inspire women to read, share literature, fellowship, and encourage others in the joy of reading. We meet at the Community Center in the Baldwin Hills Mall (1st Floor) on the first Saturday of the month. We are an eclectic group of women and so are our reading selections. Find out more on our website http://www.mochagirlsread.com

If you are media, please email Mocha Girl Dindi at media@mochagirlsread.com

For Authors and Publishers, please email Mocha Girl Classy at classy@mochagirlsread.com

Upcoming events (2)

Reading Time - Reading Apart Together

Network event

Online event

This is for all Chapters! Take some time for yourself this new year!

Every Monday we are going to take an hour and read together silently.
Pick any book you want. Log in. Read for as long as you want.
Make time for yourself, you deserve it!

NEW LINK, PASSWORD CHANGES WEEKLY.

Zoom ID:[masked]

(ONLINE)Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters, 1) by Talia Hibbert

Book Synopsis

A witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things—perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost—but not quite—dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.
Ride a motorcycle.
Go camping.
Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.
Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.
And... do something bad.
But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford ‘Red’ Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than ten-thousand Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior…
_____________________________

We will be meeting on Zoom. Link will be posted the week before.
- - - - - - - - - - -
Looking forward to seeing you all there!

P.S. If you don't finish the book, come anyway!! (If you don't mind hearing about the end.)
- - - - - - - - - - -

Buy the book from your local Bookstore (most will give you a book of the month discount)

Past events (662)

Photos (1,882)