What we're about

This group discusses Secular Buddhism, Humanistic Buddhism, Chan, Zen, and other varieties. We emphasize the practical side of this wisdom. Also, if you are familiar with StoicDan’s other groups, the meeting format is open. An introduction is given, but the group will read insightful quotes together and share experiences. This is not a lecture. The overall goal is to discuss the Buddhist concepts together and learn together. It’s also encouraged to link concepts to other branches of philosophy, events in history, and pop culture. All meetings are free and open to the public.

Upcoming events (1)

ONLINE: Robert Wright's book "Why Buddhism is True" (Chap. 7)

This is the Modern Buddhism group. We meet on Third Thursdays, and it's online.

This month, we are reviewing Chapter 7 of Robert Wright's book "Why Buddhism is True." This immensely popular book is a New York Times Bestseller, capturing the philosophy behind Buddhism, plus adding some of the author's personal skepticism. Chapter 7 is entitled "The Mental Modules That Run Your Life". It covers the idea of permanent and impermanent mental formations, and can we possess the impermanent parts? Can we call them part of our self? We hope you’ll join us for this discussion!

Please invite a friend who wants to learn about practical Buddhism.

Reading Material

As usual, I'll prepare an outline of discussion points, so you don't need to read or watch in advance.

Book - https://www.amazon.com/dp/1439195463
(It's available as Kindle, for instant download)

Zoom Link

CLICK TO START MEETING - https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87581399036

Meeting time: 7PM Eastern, 6PM Central, 5PM Mountain, 4PM Pacific.

If you don't have a computer with camera, you can also dial using a phone. Pick one of these numbers and add ID[masked] #
[masked] US (Chicago)
[masked] US (New York)
[masked] US (Houston)
[masked] US (San Jose)
[masked] US
[masked] US

In general, Buddhism helps us overcome suffering in the world. Furthermore, with study and practice, we can find the path to liberation (from suffering). Buddhism has other themes, such as seeking of wisdom (using the Eightfold Path) and recognizing that many things in life are impermanent (change is inevitable).

Our group enjoys open-minded, respectful conversations on Buddhism and how it relates to science, culture, philosophy, other belief systems, and even pop culture (books and movies). If we differ in our opinions, then "we agree to disagree". The long-term goal is to improve our minds via group discussions.

This meeting is free and open to the public.

Past events (44)

Photos (33)