Past Meetup

Intel® Developer Zone SDN/NFV Network Developer Lab

This Meetup is past

79 people went

Location image of event venue

Details

Tune in at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday and Wednesday to watch the live webcast on the Out of the Box Network Developer YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtZr7k2vr80MWGIBRdO-lnQ). See below for agenda and session details.

The importance of SDN/NFV has increased in the wake of impeding 5G that demands massive scalability, agility, latency and performance from the network. This means the VNFs and SDN solutions should be designed to be truly platform agnostic while meeting the latency and performance requirements traditionally met by ASICs, Network Processors and custom ASICs. We have had several labs focused on performance and latency. In this lab, industry experts from Huawei, Ericsson and Intel will talk about the control plan and NFV development and Orchestration framework, and how they play a critical role in an agile network.

Agenda

Agenda Day 1 – Tuesday, September 19, 2017

8:00 REGISTRATION/Breakfast

9:00 Welcome, Introductions & Overview - Sujata Tibrewala, Intel (https://www.linkedin.com/in/sujata-tibrewala-a531198/)

9:20 Deploying DPDK Powered Cloud with OpenDayligh (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1BGaXiSCSlGPcGByuVMpdyFVPI4gMXCC0VrSh5KVzqDE/edit?usp=sharing)t - Pramod Raghavendra Jayathirth (https://www.linkedin.com/in/pramodjayathirth/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top%3BqUQVwYGOTDqFQ0tUPDs2Rw%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top-search_srp_result), Intel

11:00 Break

11:15 Software Defined Networking (SDN) / Network Function Virtualization (NFV) based Evolved Packet Core (EPC) (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXenYwV2JfbkR1NzQ) - Jacob Cooper (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jacob-cooper-0a510599/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top%3B5IzodTIdRASdaiACftCeyg%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top-search_srp_result), Intel and Karla Saur (https://www.linkedin.com/in/karlasaur/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top%3BdmQKEe%2FeSRiPyu69fgAF1A%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top-search_srp_result), Intel

12:00 Innovator Project Demo - Anthony Chow (https://www.linkedin.com/in/chowanthony/)

12:15 Lunch/Demos

1:45 Kuryr+Opendaylight Hands-on Lab & Demo (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXWkxSaEpTaXloMUk) - Prem Sankar, Ericsson (https://www.linkedin.com/in/premsankar/)

3:15 Break

3:30 Industrial IoT (IIoT) landscape and the OT/IT convergence (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXT0NpUVZoeU1GemM) - Mike McBride (https://www.linkedin.com/in/mike-mcbride-aa84/), Huawei

4:15 Low Latency Networks for Edge Computing (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXREFKejY4LXV4ZE0) - Murali Rangachari (https://www.linkedin.com/in/muralirangachari/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top%3BlHvD7cdLQTquGXIsS3kCMA%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top-search_srp_result&lici=LOvFS5%2F6RdeyPzjwPI9qeQ%3D%3D), Huawei

5:00 IDEA ROULETTE

5:30 Reception - Networking, Food, Prizes! ___________________________________________________

Agenda Day 2 – Wednesday, September 20, 2017

8:00 REGISTRATION/Breakfast

9:00 Welcome, Introductions & Overview - Sujata Tibrewala, Intel (https://www.linkedin.com/in/sujata-tibrewala-a531198/)

9:15 Using Yardstick to Demonstrate the Value of Enhanced Platform Awareness for NFV (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXUnJqQmlWdnBTYkU) - Jim Chamings (https://www.linkedin.com/in/jim-chamings-1413602/), Intel

10:45 Break

11:00 Intel® Xeon® Scalable Processor Starter Kit Demo (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXWnFNQUp1R19yOGc) - Muthurajan Jayakumar (https://www.linkedin.com/in/muthurajan-jayakumar-9237191/?lipi=urn%3Ali%3Apage%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top%3BSKh2%2FKS5R7u52qs11Iv6IQ%3D%3D&licu=urn%3Ali%3Acontrol%3Ad_flagship3_search_srp_top-search_srp_result) (M Jay), Intel

12:00 6wind Demo

12:15 Lunch

1:45 New Model for Cloud Network Function Development – YANFF (Hands-on Lab) (https://docs.google.com/document/d/1jeM4H3GY4Xxn4krHYps-q0d-8QIxzbn6C54L6BLrPhM/edit?usp=sharing) - Gregory Shimansky, (https://www.linkedin.com/in/gshimansky) Intel

NOTE: This lab is limited to 30 participants. To reserve your spot, go to https://goo.gl/forms/cy202cU7d5Ydd6DM2

3:15 Break

3:30 Service Function Chaining in Openstack Neutron (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXbmdZcEItS0k4Zm8) - Farhad Sunavala (https://www.linkedin.com/in/farhad-sunavala), Huawei

4:15 Packet Manipulator Processor: Smashing "Atomic" Actions (https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4fG4G2oCizXa1JWeU5tYmRRWXc) - Marco Spaziani Brunella (https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Marco_Spaziani_Brunella), University of Rome

5:00 IDEA ROULETTE

5:20 Awards/Prizes

5:30 Adjourn