Next Meetup

Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen (Old Kingdom Book 4) - October (2) Meetup
Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen (Old Kingdom Book 4) - Garth Nix Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare. Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King? Join us and find out what happens next.... Enjoy the read. Hope to see you all there...wade

Kitanda Expresso & Açai

16349 NE 74th, Redmond, WA 98052 Redmond Town Center · Redmond, WA

What we're about

Having spent the last few decades reading these genres and wanting to share this passion with a group of like-minded readers, I was disappointed not to find an Eastside book club Meetup devoted to Sci-Fi and Fantasy. So, here we are.

If you're passionate about reading and discussing Sci-Fi and Fantasy books, then this is the place for you! Twice a month we'll meet to discuss the current book selection, which alternates between SF and Fantasy. Every so often when we're several months out from finishing the last of the scheduled meetups, we offer, as a group, book suggestions for the next 12-18 month's worth of reading.

It's a great way to get recommendations from fellow enthusiasts and experience the myriad imagineerings from many different perspectives. By scheduling the meetups so far in advance, it ensures that there's plenty of time for members to put holds on titles in the library system.

Come join us!

Here's a link to our full list of past and current reads (https://1drv.ms/f/s!AoH4_UZIajSVh_tnVRN8Vzb5IFZLCA).

Check here for our book ratings page (https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ZYa4maQHmGPpD00VhC2lcOBn_V0gmlboIh_i_5Yq3ZM/edit?usp=sharing).

Members (244)

Photos (50)