addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Nancee D.


Bellevue, WA
Hometown: Bellevue

Member since:

November 21, 2013

Why are you interested in joining this group?

I thought it would be fun to join a group of like-minded individuals and see what I can learn. I am just planning my first real garden using the square-foot-gardening method. No chickens yet, but the plan for them is coming together.

Tell us about yourself & your interests.

I am very interested in health and nutrition. I love to prepare meals from scratch. The Hubbs is getting very proficient at brewing beer and we are just trying our hand at capturing our own cultures for sourdough and yeast starter. I like baking bread and I just broke out the sewing machine again. I love to read and learn. We like to camp and ride our motorcycle. I learned to sit still and watch the river go by during a short time living on the Columbia River. It was very healing and helped me to slow down and be ok with doing very little! (0r nothing...gasp!!) I am currently reading (and loving) Nourishing Traditions, "The Cookbook that Challenges Politically Correct Nutrition and the Diet Dictocrats"

Please tell us where you live so others in the same community can connect with you if appropriate.

We live in East Renton Highlands

What expertise, if any, do you bring to the group that you could share?

Cooking, organizing meals, organizing in general. I have been a Mom (and Nanny) for a long time :) and they turned out good! I have spent years researching chemicals and products I can use safely without making my own (I would rather do something else) The Hubbs makes beer, knows about water, wells, pumps, irrigation, and solar. He may be available to attend once in a while.

What is the best phone number for members to reach you at if needed?



I am a married mom/Nanny. I am a born and raised native of Seattle that married a country guy from the sunny side of the state. We are making plans to retire and have a self-sustaining hobby farm so there's no better time that the present to prepare!

Our Sponsors

  • Kippen House

    Mention you're an Urban Homesteader, and receive $50 off.

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy