addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Re: [settlers-43] Rules clarification regarding trading

From: David L.
Sent on: Tuesday, May 29, 2007 1:33 PM
Something for nothing trades are banned, and I'm pretty sure that
stretching a trade over more than one turn is banned, too.  Trading
goods to a person with a port in return for something they exchange at
the port only works if it's the port owner's turn.  It's okay to pay a
fee: nothing requires you to trade equal numbers of cards, so you can
trade 3 wheat for a sheep whether the person you're trading with uses a
port to get the sheep or just has a sheep in his hand.  According to the
FAQ, he can use the port *during* the trade, if it's his turn.  I'm
pretty sure this would work even if the port owner has no cards, since
he's still handing back a card as part of the trade.


As I read it, you can bribe someone even if he has zero cards: give him
two cards and ask for one back.

Dave



----- Original Message -----
From: Rob Renaud <[address removed]>
Date: Tuesday, May 29,[masked]:13 pm
Subject: [settlers-43] Rules clarification regarding trading
To: [address removed]

> Is it allowable to simply give a resource to another player, without
> getting one back?
> 
> Is it okay to pay a "fee" for using other players ports?  Is it
> allowable to trade away 3 wheat to a player with a wheat port, and get
> a resource of my choice, pending the acceptance of the other player
> assuming it is the other players turn?  What if that player cannot
> exercise the port before the trade?  What if the other player has no
> cards?
> 
> From the FAQ, it seems that something for nothing trades are banned.
> 
> http://www.univer...­
> 
> 
> 
> --
> This message was sent by Rob Renaud (member profile: 
> http://settlers.m...­) from NYC Settlers 
> of Catan Meetup Group.
> 
> To unsubscribe from this list or to update your mailing list 
> settings, visit your account page: 
> http://www.meetup...­
> 
> Meetup.com Customer Service: [address removed]
> 632 Broadway New York NY 10012 USA
> 
> 

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy