addressalign-toparrow-leftarrow-rightbackbellblockcalendarcameraccwcheckchevron-downchevron-leftchevron-rightchevron-small-downchevron-small-leftchevron-small-rightchevron-small-upchevron-upcircle-with-checkcircle-with-crosscircle-with-pluscontroller-playcrossdots-three-verticaleditemptyheartexporteye-with-lineeyefacebookfolderfullheartglobegmailgooglegroupshelp-with-circleimageimagesinstagramFill 1light-bulblinklocation-pinm-swarmSearchmailmessagesminusmoremuplabelShape 3 + Rectangle 1ShapeoutlookpersonJoin Group on CardStartprice-ribbonprintShapeShapeShapeShapeImported LayersImported LayersImported Layersshieldstartickettrashtriangle-downtriangle-uptwitteruserwarningyahoo

Melissa

Event Organizer

Location:

Brookfield, CT

Member since:

February 24, 2013

What would you like to see happen in this group?

Between graduating high school, going to college in VA, moving back up to CT, and going to grad school, I have either lost touch with friends, or haven't had the time to make new ones. In this group, I hope to meet and make friends that are more geared toward the same goals as me, both in the "stay healthy" sense, and in the sense that I would like to develop more mature and substantial relationships. I have been through more than my fair share of life experiences at my age already; I have matured enough to know that I am not your average 29-year-old chick, plus I don't drink, so it's hard to meet people my age who want the same things as I do..doesn't mean I don't know how to have fun, though. Not a fan of the bar scene, I'm more drawn to the intimate setting. The group looks life a ton of fun; looks like you don't have to drink to get the most out of it, so I'm in. I hope there are some of you who can appreciate where I'm coming from and I get to meet you all :)

What are some of your interests & favorite activities?

Oh boy...rock wall climbing, dog park-ing, bowling, BILLIARDS, driving ranges, batting cages, mini golf-ing, singing, movies and music of all kinds (played violin for 10 years--probably can't play a tune now though, unfortunately), hiking, swimming, volleyball, kickball , lasertag, shooting range, dodgeball, softball....really any sport that's fun and engaging (I miss playing them -- played field hockey, lacrosse, and rugby in school), photography, design of all kind, architecture (studied in college), games (trivia, chess, board games...I love Cranium, Password, Pictionary, Jenga, and Taboo), exercise, dancing (I would love to learn Salsa), backgammon, card games, bocce ball, shuffle board, horseshoes, corn hole, darts, fishing, psychology and counseling (which is what I'm studying)...having great conversation with great people. Oh, and I would LOVE to learn how to cook/bake, I suck...I'm sure I could come up with more...

What do you like to do for exercise?

After working about 13 hours/day during the week, it doesn't leave me time for exercise, unfortunately. When I do have time, and what I would like to get back into, is yoga, running, walking the dog, BeachBody, weights, rock wall climbing, hiking, swimming....I hope that on the weekends, especially when the weather warms up, that I can start these things again. Also, during the summer, my schedule will lighten up a bit since I work in a school.

What has been some of your biggest influences for improving health?

I am a brutally honest person; sometimes more-so that I should be. That being said, I went through a major depression and gained weight. I finally kicked my ass into gear and did INSANITY and P90X. I lost 35 pounds. Since then, I've been maintaining my original weight and have stayed pretty healthy ever since. I have always kept that dip in my life in mind and try to avoid things that trigger that fall. I just know that if you can't take care of yourself, you can't take care of others.

When are you usually available- Weekends? Weekdays? Weeknights? Anytime?

Only weekends -- until the summer, hopefully, I'll be a bit more available.

Introduction

Hi! I'm from Brookfield but grew up in Norwalk, CT. I work long days during the week in Waterbury-doesn't allow much time to meet new people outside of work. So excited to find this group and look forward to the many adventures.

What Melissa is saying about this Meetup Group

Great group! Met so many awesome people (including my fiancé!). I've hosted various meetups and have had great turn outs. Don't be too timid to suggest something, anything. You never know who may be interested!


Member of

  • This member chose not to make their Meetup membership information public.

Interests

  • This member chose not to make their interests public.

Our Sponsors

  • SET Gym & Fitness

    Meetup Members Save! 10 Boxing Classes = $75. 12pack of Spinning = $49

People in this
Meetup are also in:

Sign up

Meetup members, Log in

By clicking "Sign up" or "Sign up using Facebook", you confirm that you accept our Terms of Service & Privacy Policy